Define Healing in Laughing in Circles

  • Aug. 10, 2013, 4:41 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I'm at the checkout with my newly prescribed meds for my nausea. I want little more than to get in my car, drive my happy butt home, and go to bed.

The woman there decides that while I'm writing out the check she should keep busy and wash her station which is off to my right. Spruurtspruurtspruurtcrinklecrinklecrinkle She moves her hand in short, circular motions.

"Ma'am, my name is MJ and I have an inner ear condition which makes me very dizzy. Would you mind stopping that just long enough for me to write me check?"

"Oh, absolutely."

She watched me closely then asked me, "Which ear?"

I just knew what was coming.

"May I", she asked as she reached out to place her hand on my left ear.

And before I knew it, this complete stranger was praying me healed. She never said anything out loud...she just did it. I appreciated the gesture and eventually placed my hand on hers.

"Thank-you."

"Do you believe yourself healed?"

"If by healed you mean I'm no longer dizzy, then no."

"Do you feel anything?"

"Yes...I do. I feel not alone, and cherished by a sister in Christ. Thank you for the blessing - it is a form of healing."

I don't say this lightly as, of late, I've been feeling a little peevish towards a large portion of those who call themselves 'Christian' but who display the very worst behaviors - not to mention that in a world where we're so 'trained' to flinch from a hand offered in friendship....or healing... Or a world where we're conditioned to mind our own P's and Q's...how could I not consider myself to to have been healed to some degree.

I smiled through the nausea and counted myself blessed.


shneaker August 10, 2013

Kudos to her for having the boldness and courage to do that. That is a woman who firmly has her faith intact. Kudos for you for being the vessel of this act. Sometimes we are so occupied by what is around us we get distracted and we fail even though we have the faith. Peter walked on water whilst he was looking at Jesus but when he got distracted and looked away he sank. I have a heard time with people and their holiness. I see it all the time.. And it sends shivers up my spine. But I would be open to being prayed for by her..

Linda August 10, 2013

Beautiful.

Deleted user August 10, 2013

That was so wonderful.... that she did that for you. I don't know.. This made me smile a little bit...

MJ's Page Deleted user ⋅ August 10, 2013

Smiling is good....and the ultimate purpose of this 'book'. She was a brave woman, not knowing how I might respond.

Deleted user MJ's Page ⋅ August 10, 2013

Yes.. definately brave. For sure! Well yeah.. there are days where I find smiling more difficult than other days.

I think on those days it's when I turn on the music and sing off key as loud as I can!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.