I don't want to be here... in Public

  • Nov. 19, 2013, 10:21 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Don't consider me ungrateful, but I'm in mourning. I'm grieving the loss of an old friend. One who has been there with me for 13 years. Longer than my kids have been alive. Almost as long as my marriage lasted. Certainly longer than any work position I've had. A friend who has witnessed every major event in my life, including some I'd prefer to forget. A friend who has listened patiently to every rant and snark. A friend who never complained when I disappeared for months at a time. A friend who's also a therapist able to give me blunt feedback when I needed it. A chronicler who reads back the record whenever I'm tempted to forget.

I am grateful to Simple Mind for doing this. I'm half regretting not doing it myself. I wish him well.

But I'm not sure this is where I belong. Refugees are filtering in daily. I suppose a few old friends will pop up and setup their new virtual homesteads. I may even be one of them.

But I'm not happy about it. I'm in mourning.


nursegirl November 19, 2013

I was mourning it, a lot. It is hard. I had 12 years at OD. But I find this place so clean, so crisp, so quick! Unfortunately I only have 2 friends that have made it over. I really wish that OD could have found someone to update the website and get it all figured out firs.t

Overachiever nursegirl ⋅ November 19, 2013

I feel like...if I leave OD and some of my old favs show up, how will I know?

simple mind November 19, 2013

Hey! Long time no see!

Far be it from replacing an old friend, I hope you find things to like about Prosebox.

Overachiever simple mind ⋅ November 19, 2013

I probably will. Although like a doctor is the worst patient, are you sure you want another developer as a member?

So...I'm guessing Django on the back-end, with Bootstrap 3 (bold choice!)...and jQuery? Dude, it's 2013. Come to the AngularJS side. We have way more than just cookies.

simple mind Overachiever ⋅ November 20, 2013

Maybe someday I'll plug in the Django Rest Framework and play around with some NG front end stuff. So is that your current professional flavor of choice? I've played with it, but nothing substantial.

Overachiever simple mind ⋅ November 19, 2013

Do you get notified of replies to comments you've left in someone else's books?

simple mind Overachiever ⋅ November 19, 2013

Of course! :-)

Beret November 20, 2013

Glad to see you here. It took awhile but this place feels more and more like home. And it works! And the developer is responsive! And he improves it! And he takes suggestions! Give it a chance for awhile and hopefully you will feel at home too.

A stronger woman January 02, 2014

I took the plunge to read as no one is updating on OD...this feels so WEIRD to me. I'm cheating on OD.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.