Graduation Weekend, Normal Rockwell and a new truck in Tea at the Cabin in the Woods

  • May 14, 2015, 8:35 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The campus is abuzz with preparations for Saturday. The main stage is being assembled on the green as are the tents and rows and rows of chairs. Many students are moving out of the dorms today and parents looked tired from driving and carrying boxes of STUFF up and down the stairs into their cars. It’s always a time full of excitement and tears for everyone.

Hubby and I escaped campus for a couple of days and drove the 4 hours to the town where Normal Rockwell lived out the rest of his life. We went the museum and loved looking at the wonderful paintings and beautiful way he captured the human spirit. He was a genius! The town is lovely and full of magnificent old mansions, from Greek Revivals to Victorian beauties. The B & B we stayed at was a charming Victorian mansion, well designed and appointed. Our room had an old deep claw foot tub - which I made good use of - to soak and relax. The owners have gone beyond the normal B & B by offering afternoon cheese and wine and evening Ice cream. There is a small putting green in the yard and a billiards & theater room on the second floor. They even have a business center available. Of the five guestrooms they offer, only two were occupied and the other couple there were delightful. We walked all around the town, visited the botanical gardens and went exploring to find a hidden gem of a diner in a neighboring village. It was great to get away from the stress of the end of the semester and now that I’m back, I will be more ready for summer break to begin in another week.

Mother’s Day was Sunday. I am not a fan of Mother’s Day, never have been. It seems it is full of chores and more stuff that needs to be done. I spent it cleaning up the veggie garden, ironing, packing, trying to call my Mother, and fixing meals. It’s always like this… My kids live far away and daughter had to work all day - so, I don’t even get to spend time with my kids or my mother. Anyway, Hubby gave me a packet of blank cards and a bottle of hand creme. And today we picked up a new truck. That is supposed to be my Mother’s Day gift, a new truck with a $315.00 a month payment. He is driving the truck since I had to come back to campus. And the more he talked after picking it up, the more it sounds like the truck is actually going to be his. He had his cell phone keyed into the blue-tooth thingy - which should have been an indication that MY Mother’s Day Gift is really for him. Men! If he wanted a new truck, he should have just said it was for him to begin with. Than I wouldn’t be complaining about how he has taken it over already and it’s only been 3 hours since we picked it up. What’s wrong with telling it like it is anyway? I just don’t understand the need to appear one way and totally flip another one… Much like the politicians of late… Oh… don’t let me get started on that one.

Maybe I had better get some actual work done before I start on a rant. Happy Spring everyone!


Daps Karma May 14, 2015

I share your opinion of Mother's Day.

Checking out people and blogs, I am new here.

Food Master Daps Karma ⋅ May 15, 2015

Welcome to Prose box. I am an old time Open Diary person and still getting used to this format. There are some very interesting people here and some I have been "Chatting" with for years. Friends I have met in person and many I have not met face to face but have spoken with and emailed in addition to the blogs. I hope you find what you are looking for. Again, welcome.

whowhatwhere May 14, 2015

Sounds like a nice get a way!

ermentrude May 14, 2015

Mothers day and Valentine's too, I'll tell people I love and appreciate them when I damn well want!

Your break sounds so perfect, I'm glad your were able to escape for a few days. X

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.