books awaiting my attention in book reviews

  • May 13, 2015, 3:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Since I belong to book exchange sites, I often read what I’ve recently received. Or, surrounded by STACKS of books, I read what’s easily visible.

I started looking through the books in the bookcases, so I can make more space (HA!). I am currently reading two of them:

You must remember this - an oral history of Manhattan. The person who wrote/edited the book interviewed MANY people! Some of their memories are fascinating - they do NOT mince words. The good, the bad, the memorable. And I know of I were to related stories from many years ago, there would probably be errors - well, there are errors here also. I often chuckle or at least smile when reading the stories the interviewees relate.

Cool Cats, Top Dogs, and other Beastly Expressions - I am sure this was a gift from my mother… Organized by animal type, it explains the derivation of many of the animal related terms used in modern day English. Fascinating.

I no longer keep most of the books I read, so when these are done, they’ll be passed on.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.