I guess that's why they call it the blues in One day at a time

  • May 11, 2015, 11:18 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I don’t want to hex it but I’m thinking I may have lucked out with the new neighbours. They are quiet as little church mice. I plan on starting off well (hopefully) this time and will pop over with some baking – purchased of course, I don’t want to kill them, this weekend. I have spied a cat carrier cage through their window, so I’m thinking we might be able to come to a kitty sitting arrangement. No doubt their cat will be an outside roamer, which will enrage my little cat who puffs up to twice her normal size when she sees another cat wondering past. Then, once puffed up sufficiently she hunts down poor old Booboo (the big grey) and gives him a good slap – just for daring to be another cat.

It seems I may have been a bit hasty and judgey on the whole question mark text (from my last entry.) I have virtually no mobile phone coverage at my house, despite the stupid adverts that claim to cover 97% of New Zealand. Quite often I will drive 2 minutes down the road and my phone will start to ping like I am a Kardashian or something. I have an app that tells me when texts come in. A couple of days after the contentious “?” arrived, I got another text “Roomate away, how about I run you a bubble bath and serenade you with Elton John songs”, followed about 20 minutes later by “Ok it doesn’t have to be EJ, you can pick the music”, and then followed by the “?” - oops.

My mother has now been moved to a private hospital, and typically she is thriving. Since she had her first stroke (nearly 15 years ago now), I have tended to forget a couple of things about my Mother. One that she is a real coper. She went from being childless to having two children in a week (via adoption), she raised me solo from the time I was 13 and my Father died suddenly. And two, she has a fantastic sense of humour. As she says “I may have been bumped up God’s waiting list a little, but I am still not at the top”. Love her.

We had an awesome thunder and lightening storm last night. It kicked off at about 1.00am which was a bit disruptive (especially with the cats leaping off the bed and taking off for their wee hiding places). This morning there was some flooding around the city, but now it is just kind of grey and dull. I know I say it every year, but boy I hate winter.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.