Mus mus in keeping it postive

  • May 11, 2015, 5:28 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

A few months ago, I trapped a house mouse in the bottom of a garbage pail. I caught him in a plastic food container with a hole at the top. I was going to release him in the park, but ended up keeping him. I gave him food - bread - and water - in the cap from a bottle of water.

I finally broke down and bought him a cage. It was a small plastic one used for crickets. There were two tubes for a person to catch the crickets to release them for animals that ate them. The mouse took to hiding in the tube - small dark area.

I would feed him oatmeal and bread - tried some nuts, etc, but he didn’t care for them. I gave him water. Finally he got bold enough for me to be able to look at him without him running up the tube.

Then… he was gone. HOW? Turned out that since the cage was made of plastic, he just chewed a mouse-sized hole in the “bars” and scooted out. He had to climb on TOP of the tubes to get to it. It took me a long time to find that small hole.

Then I noticed that the cage was dirty again and the oatmeal in it was eaten. I guess the mouse sized hole is a two way doorway.


Milkwood May 11, 2015

That sounds so cute!

whowhatwhere May 11, 2015

Smart mouse!

Darcy0207 from OD May 11, 2015

FYI - mus mus is the Latin name for house mouse

MemoryFails May 12, 2015

Love the entry title and love the mouse! :)
<3

Darcy0207 from OD MemoryFails ⋅ May 12, 2015

thank you. I am currently petless (pet-free) so needed to create something to take care of. Glad it was temporary.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.