Flash Fri --- misstep in Adjunct to 8/9/2013 flash friday; a trinity of flashs

  • May 9, 2015, 11:12 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I left some words on the table. I could have gone back for them; I didn’t. ‘Let some other fool use them some other time,’ I thought ‘Maybe someone late to catch his train or someone with nowhere to go. Maybe an old dog who fought with his old lady and he just doesn’t want to go home or maybe a lost little dog that just wants shelter from the storm. ‘

It’s not like they were my words; everything between a man and a woman has already been said. It was my table, it’s not anymore. I don’t know, it never stops anyone from doing anything, the idea that it’s all already been played out. I know, you have to play it out at least once for yourself, it’s not until you sing that sad old refrain outloud that you realize everyone knows the harmony without the sheet music.

Shit. Shit. Shit. Yeah, no, I can’t finish that. A flash it was going to be a simple flash and, you know, mostly schtick and kitsch (huh, try saying that three times real fast and I bet you get a free yarmulke). I wrote a flash yesterday. Nobody ever believes me when I say flashs need to be written. They don’t necessarily need to be seen, but, dammit they need to be written. Or sweated out on a punching bag or taken on a long road trip or sunk to the bottom of a bottle of tequila like some hapless worm.

The one yesterday didn’t mean anything to me. I wrote it because flashes need to be written and because I have a lot on my mind, and, apparently chest, lungs, left eye,ear and shoulder. The above one, I don’t know, I had a phrase stuck in my mind. It turned into something else.

It’s been three years since the final straw, but the bundle had grown for years before that. But, god dammit, there are things I miss about sunny. I can’t forgive her and I’m pretty sure I’m happy with never seeing her again and I know I’m more than justified (she … naw, if you don’t know the story and don’t want to take my word for it it’s not worth repeating. Ok, I don’t know about worth, but I don’t feel like repeating it). But, apparently, that’s where my mind went with ‘ …left words on the table…’

Fuck it. Here’s the lyrics to song that will follow

“Do You Love Me?”

I found her on a night of fire and noise
Wild bells rang in a wild sky
I knew from that moment on
I’d love her till the day that I died
And I kissed away a thousand tears
My lady of the Various Sorrows
Some begged, some borrowed, some stolen
Some kept safe for tomorrow
On an endless night, silver star spangled
The bells from the chapel went jingle-jangle

She was given to me to put things right
And I stacked all my accomplishments beside her
Still I seemed so obselete and small
I found God and all His devils insider her
In my bed she cast the blizzard out
A mock sun blazed upon her head
So completely filled with light she was
Her shadow fanged and hairy and mad
Our love-lines grew hopelessly tangled
And the bells from the chapel went jingle-jangle

She had a heartful of love and devotion
She had a mindful of tyranny and terror
Well, I try, I do, I really try
But I just err, baby, I do, I error
So come and find me, my darling one
I’m down to the grounds, the very dregs
Ah, here she comes, blocking the sun
Blood running down the inside of her legs
The moon in the sky is battered and mangled
And the bells from the chapel go jingle-jangle

All things move toward their end
I knew before I met her that I would lose her
I swear I made every effort to be good to her
I swear I made every effort not to abuse her
Crazy bracelets on her wrists and her ankles
And the bells from the chapel went jingle-jangle


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.