the kids aren't okay in 2015

  • May 7, 2015, 9:18 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I had a lady doctor appointment today.

I’m off the Lo Loestrin as of yesterday because of the uncontrolled high blood pressure. I’ve been struggling with allergies since Monday and I’m not allowed to take decongestants. The air has been dry and that and the allergies triggered the reactive airways. So now I’m breathing inefficiently, can’t really treat it, and super aware of my heartbeat. See also: ways to convince yourself that you’re having a heart attack. UGH. I start a diuretic tomorrow morning to flush all this stupid water out of my system but without the estrogen, I’ve already started peeing frequently. I start a non-estrogen birth control pill on Sunday or whenever my period comes, whichever happens first.

Because apparently, APPARENTLY, my body does not tolerate estrogen. Like… at all, honestly, because I was on the lowest dose possible. And my body flipped its shit and now I’m all messed up. This is the greatest tomboy affirmation ever. “Be more ladylike!” “I can’t; I’m intolerant to estrogen.”

So in the meantime, my hormones are swinging wildly and my heart is pounding and I’m super aware of my heart and my breathing and there’s fluids and gas purging and there are mood swings and random gas aches and bathroom breaks every 90 minutes and HOLY SHIT THIS SUCKS. I’m fine and distracted and then there’s another gas twinge somewhere, and even as I’m burping it up the latent (mood swing-enhanced) anxiety starts hollering about cardiac death at 28.

Oh, and the nurse did me exactly no favors when she told me that I had to understand that missing my last period could mean that I’m pregnant, and then took my blood pressure, which set a new high level for me (like, 140/95) and promptly recorded that. Yes. Because your adrenaline spike just then had nothing to do with that raging systolic number. (Lo Loestrin makes you occasionally skip periods. It is non-concerning. Also, due to size constraints, we haven’t actually legit had sex yet, soo… yeah, not worried.) BUT STILL. And then I tested out the CVS free blood pressure machine while waiting in line and it practically had me in hypertensive shock. I mean, I’m uncomfortable because I hate being aware of my body, and honestly the congestion + asthma is the absolute worst part, but I’m pretty sure I’m not at 171/110, especially only 4 hours after being so much lower. Pretty sure that old-looking machine in the questionable pharmacy ain’t working right.

Does the anxiety care? Hell no it doesn’t; it’s just more what if scenarios to entertain.

And so, I am going to remind myself to breathe with my mouth because my nose is worthless and hey maybe you don’t feel like you have enough air because you don’t so breathe stupid and go to bed, before I work myself up more fixating on this like I have all freaking day.

SHUT. UP. BRAIN.

…Oh, and we’re kind of getting hit by a not-quite-yet-classified subtropical storm so yaaaay! PLEASE MOISTEN MY AIR AND PURGE THE POLLEN, STORM. PLEASE.


ViscousNightshade May 07, 2015

"“Be more ladylike!” “I can’t; I’m intolerant to estrogen.”"

HAHA!

Ever since I started the pill and prozac (pretty close to one another...actually...) I've been hyper aware of everything. I used to be on medication for hyperthyroidism, and although I tested as normal before starting the prozac, every time I have something that mildly resembles a symptom from then it sends me into this hyper-sensitive mode where I am aware of everything my body does...is it hyperthyroidism coming back? Do I need to change my prozac dose or prescription entirely? Will that give me new side effects? And usually it is none of the above. -_-;

And the allergies have made it worse. It is such a cliche but I really think this year's allergens are terrible...between the dry weather and the wind I was in terrible shape last week. We got some rain yesterday and the day before, so I think that helped calm it down...but when it all dries up it'll start all over again. Yuck.

So maybe I can't relate fully but...guh. -_- Stay hydrated and sane!

sparkyray ViscousNightshade ⋅ May 08, 2015

I would blame the pill! But maybe I'm biased...

But I was on Prozac for a few years in the mid-2000's. Maybe they've changed how it works, but I wasn't hyperaware of anything. I wasn't even close to it. Prozac is stabilizing, but the pill is very much not. However, both require several weeks before your body adjusts to all the brand new neurotransmitters or hormones. I would bet it's the pill, because you sound anxious about the hyperthyroidism, whereas Prozac calms anxiety. Which BC pill are you on? Some of them are baaaad about the mood swings like that.

I hope you feel better/blissfully unaware soon!

Mr. Mofo May 07, 2015

Sparky Raye, I realize that I will be outliving the entire old OD group(Since I will be living for another 1433 years) however could you not die until you're 70-100 years of age please.

sparkyray Mr. Mofo ⋅ May 08, 2015

That is definitely the plan.

But should I die, I offer to become a zombie vixen.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.