Left turn into the right place in The eye of every storm

  • May 7, 2015, 4:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

“Twin Rocks.” I guess in Oregon they call it like they see it.

The following four photographs I want to make into a theme for our next homes’ bathroom. I know. Slow down. I don’t want this photography thing to jump ahead too fast. But matted, with a cutesy “Cape Meares Lighthouse” and a signature in the opposite corner, it’s just possible people could shit and slide their credit cards simultaneously.

Here’s something else you may enjoy:

High tide doesn’t scare me.

Pacific City, Oregon.

Oregon is an amazing state. This photograph is merely minutes from the ocean. At one point, the sea touches a person’s toes with its frost, and within the hour, it lies four thousand feet below as one gazes upon a majestic waterfall that feeds its resources.

We turned left onto this road where the above rumored water fall was said to be located. It wasn’t marked, and nary a yellow line adorned the scarcely paved surface. A pleasant, well-manicured slew of houses spotted the windows as we continued upward. Eventually, the pavement gave way, and we drove over some bridges comprised of two-by-twelves, hope, and a bit of concrete. Eventually, we found the above waterfalls.

Coming out of the fall area, I stopped to take this picture. The sun was setting, and just over the vista lies the Pacific Ocean, powerful and vast, limitless in its fury. Between that greatness and the meager existence I abide within, was this dirt road. So many adventures in my life have only occurred by doing something “unmarked,” or “off the beaten path” or “unplanned.” Most of my family have thought I was fucking crazy for living my life this way.

Most of my family have never seen this.


donut May 07, 2015

The coastline pics are incredible (and probably don't do it justice).

Waiting For Sunrise May 08, 2015

These are beautiful. I kinda want to be in Oregon right now..

Deleted user May 10, 2015

I have fallen in love with Oregon in so many ways... the city & the towns, the mountains, the coast... it's been almost 4 years too long!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.