Absent, Without Leaving. in And The Rest.

  • May 6, 2015, 8:02 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Sometimes I think transparency is slowly subtly stealing me, a silent strident thievery, to reveal invisibility, fading to obscurity; replacing, defacing, displacing: erasing.

I no longer trust the truth of touch, collecting, correcting, resurrecting; contract from contact and recoil from recall; leave no trace at all, no evidence of permanence, my fingerprints could simply sink through surfaces: invisible ink. I drift untethered, float forever, a haze of whispers hung together, strung like feathers, soft-spoken murmurs left unsung, I’ve come undone, untied, unspun: I am no-one.

The more that I question the more is unasked, though I’m drifting too slowly I’m reaching too fast; can’t envisage a future nor relive the past, I’m unheard in the chorus, can’t place my face in this cast of a thousand blank masks.

Empty-plastic rolling eyes, empty plastic-soul disguise, replayed again without surprise, a tired reprise; sunset, sunrise, they’re all the same, this endless game; recurrent revolutions without resolution, the world always turning, the thoughts always churning, the soul ever yearning, horizons still burning. Cover me, smother me, build yet another me, what is recovery when truth is elusive and silence effusive; so slippery, oily, illusive, reclusive.

Frenetic kinetic energy, I move too quickly to solidify into a single hardened lie; faithless-dancing, shifting eyes, evasively unverified, scattered, shattered, soon denied, just ashes on a burning tide. Desolate, disparate, desperate; do flames in flux illuminate- or eviscerate, incinerate- perhaps I can evaporate, in the heat of deep internal hate.

I’m only what you make of me, a web of complex fakery, redacted, enacted, socially contracted; this fractured foundation holds no correlation to the reality I think is me- whoever that may really be- I’m variations on stagnation, creation or repatriation, a contemplation of ruination, a constant constrained conflagration. I’m a chocolate box of vacant smiles; a repeated deceit in dull-sequin cover, dressed up as another, disguised as a lover: caress me, repress me, attempt to redress me- expressed as a shallow charade of the best me.

Taken apart I’m a stained-glass heart, pieces and panels in a patchwork of scars; a lantern patterned in harlequin, a polychrome shell with no light from within, a papier-mache mannequin: newsprint and paste, a recycled waste, scissor-snipped letters of ransom-note Scrabble; hoping or coping or coming unravelled.

Slither back with swift viscosity, this is terminal velocity in becoming this monstrosity; this bloated, swollen, soulless being that no-one else admits to seeing: distending, dissenting, no longer consenting, the boundaries bending, it’s too hard reinventing, I’m sick of pretending; when all that I want is the truth of an ending.


Pennyworth's Ghost May 06, 2015

You're use of meter is really on point, elevating this from a free-form word menagerie to something that is truly impressive. You could put a beat behind this, and people would want to listen.

Waiting For Sunrise Pennyworth's Ghost ⋅ May 08, 2015

Thank you! For some reason I have been finding recently that the rhythm and pace of anything I write is almost as important to me as the actual words I choose.... I'm glad it works! :)

LoveSuicide May 06, 2015

I wonder about the scars that we draw upon for inspiration. Often, it is a cycle pedaled by our own inner thoughts and terrors. Internalized and brutalized by the concepts that do not tire, that do not slumber, that do not play fair. There's a bulb above our head brilliant lit against the black back of the shadow that only maims. It claims our soul with sickening grip, a deadly fist, and the finality of the inevitable.

We wrap ourselves in our cloaks of colored bruises.

And we just keep taking a beating.

Until it spills upon the pavement.

Waiting For Sunrise LoveSuicide ⋅ May 08, 2015

All. Of. This.

Thank you.

LoveSuicide Waiting For Sunrise ⋅ May 08, 2015

I should be and am the one thanking you!

LoveSuicide May 06, 2015

I’m only what you make of me, a web of complex fakery, redacted, enacted, socially contracted; this fractured foundation holds no correlation to the reality I think is me- whoever that may really be

It's amazing. And I thought revealing. I wonder where you found this drifting about.

ICanDoASumbersault May 07, 2015

Very impressive. I read it through a few times and it has left me feeling very contemplative. I love it.

Waiting For Sunrise ICanDoASumbersault ⋅ May 08, 2015

Thank you! :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.