Joyous Beltaine! in A New Beginning

  • May 3, 2015, 6:57 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today Joe and I went our separate ways, to our respective covens; Beltaine rituals. At his, they danced around the Maypole. At ours, we leaped over the Bel fire. I used to be jealous of them, because we NEVER dance around the Maypole down here (at least “not in forever”!). But I got to go up to Joe’s coven’s last year, I found out that I do not enjoy it as much in my late 50s as I did in my early 40s, which had been the last time I did it. Fun, heck! I just wanted to get that ribbon wrapped around that pole before I died trying! :oD !!

So today, though I did miss getting to see a very good friend who is in Joe’s coven, I did not mind being here jumping the fire with my own peeps at all. It is, after all, just a small fire by the time we get ‘round to jumping it (and running alongside it trailing a hand over it is just as good....important, since our oldest member is 74!).

At Beltaine we celebrate the fertility that results in the great teeming bounty of Life we see all around us at this time of year. As ya’all know, I’m experiencing a bit of renewal myself, and expect to enjoy even more of it soon, after my surgery on June 4th. So even more than usual, “teeming bounty of Life” is something I can really FEEL right now. I FEEL the energies within me beginning to course again. I feel that I will enjoy a bounty of creative accomplishment this year! :o)

We brought a new member into our coven today, Zena. I like her a lot. She seems either she or self-conscious or guarded, or some combination, but is very friendly in a conversation or social setting. In ritual she looks down a lot and often doesn’t sing. She had a very abusive childhood, and I feel the fear of rejection coming from her still, even though she is in her fifties, and in so many ways a beautiful, strong woman. She doesn’t open her arms much; she keeps them to her sides or actually with hands clasped in front of her. I think it is so sad, how long some of the damage done to people in childhood can stay with them. But I look forward to seeing Zena emerge from her shell! Some of her problem today wasn’t shyness, though. She is having surgery this Friday to remove a benign but painful tumor, and so she has not been on any decent pain medication for the past week. And she suffers from spinal stenosis and fibromyalgia. I really felt for her, and gave her my sympathy and caring. I know she will be glad to have that surgery over with! Just like I will be to have mine over with!

Since I got home, I’ve mowed the fruit tree meadow and path, and taken Guinness for two walks. I am so glad that I found out I can take him walking again! :o) !! He did bust loose from me yesterday, though, when a darn cottontail bunny bounced out of the tall grass and up the path ahead of us! I didn’t even try to hold on. It is not worth getting hurt over! He didn’t come when I called him, but at least he didn’t run all over the county! I just followed him across the road to the neighbor’s yard, around the neighbor’s house, picked up the end of his leash when I caught up with him, and brought him home. I didn’t even say a word about it to him. Every Good Boy needs to bust loose and chase a bunny once in awhile!

This week I need to get crackin’ on the chapter my runes study group is doing this month, because it’s mine and Joe’s turn to teach it! on Friday! Each chapters covers two runes. I cover one and have Joe cover the other, since I am definitely his senior in this stuff.

Well, my dear friends, I am going to post this and maybe read some of that chapter. I hope your week gets off to a good start and mine does too!

hugs and blessings,
Nicky


Deleted user May 03, 2015

I love reading about your traditions and rituals. Zena sounds like a nice person and am glad you are so understanding....You are a good person... I don't have a thyroid anymore, but have never met anyone who had the parathyroid removed and kept their thyroid. Hope it makes you feel wonderful after! :)

thesunnyabyss May 03, 2015

sounds like a great day!!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.