I Believe In The Stars in Poetry is the Window to the Soul...

  • May 3, 2015, 1:27 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

And sometimes the inspiration comes from the moments and the fingers of the least expected..

“I Believe In The Stars”

I believe in the stars
They are opulent
In their staggering beauty
And unlike your heart
They do not lie
Nor do they wander
As I am free-falling
So very far
From the man
You loved

I spin

And tonight, darling
I am staring at the stars
Breathing in their charm
As if I could live
On just this
Believe in their spark
And hold on hard
To believing
In some thing
Once again

You are my
Stellar marker
My cosmic shard
The light that guides
My blistered hands
From devastated
To inebriated
To celebrating
The reclamation
Of my harp string heart
Free from loving yours
Colored in sin

I believe in the stars

I believe in their spark

I believe, darling
Oh, I believe
I long to believe
In him

© Brian Milici
May 3, 2015

Feedback, as always, is adored.

May you always find your smile.


Last updated May 03, 2015


Waiting For Sunrise May 03, 2015

The stars are a fact; a beautiful, perfect, natural fact. Believing in something less tangible, something that cannot be proved, or corroborated by anyone else seeing it, is so much harder...

LoveSuicide Waiting For Sunrise ⋅ May 03, 2015

Harder.

So true.

Good God, yes!

But then I suppose it's just truth we are searching for, and it is in something so foreign to my comprehension such as the stars that I gaze for reaffirmation.. for reassurance. .

And it is absolutely preposterous!

The stars are purity.

Unselfish in the way that the weather is. . Both can with enough study be predictable.

Yes. I said it. Predictable. Not you, nor I though.

People are forever unpredictable.

Which is why true love is superb surrendering for.

It's perfectly predictable.

Until the selfishness starts.

Waiting For Sunrise LoveSuicide ⋅ May 04, 2015

I suppose perhaps we can look to the stars for something to believe in, because although they are an undisputed truth that can be verified by sight.... there is so much more to them than can be seen. They require the same ability to suspend disbelief in what lies beyond the easily-seen surface that believing in love could ask of us, if we are to accept the further-distant layers of fairy-light galaxies we can't see.

LoveSuicide Waiting For Sunrise ⋅ May 04, 2015

You should post this. Do you write for a living? I seriously hope that you do.

The stars are a beautiful creature, and I think I often consider myself one. Just twinkling in the sky. Always there. A constant.

Just waiting to be wished upon.

Grant that request, then continue on my way in space, until I can make another wish come true. Just twinkling.

Deleted user May 03, 2015

Love this

Your poems warm my heart

LoveSuicide Deleted user ⋅ May 03, 2015

If they actually do, then I cannot think of a greater tribute. I'm deeply honored.

Truly.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.