Disappointed.... in The start of something?

  • May 3, 2015, 3:53 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

We didn’t make it a hatrick.....

My quartet competed in our regional competition yesterday. I knew we weren’t ready. You may remember I didn’t want to do it....
We had new competition this year and this quartet is going to a national comp next month and have been having lots of coaching. We’ve had none.

So after winning the gold medal for the last two years, this year we lost by two percentage points.

I was devastated. It was so hard to sit in that auditorium and clap and smile as they announced this years gold medalists....
Harder still because two of the girls in that quartet that won are involved in the administration of the region’s barbershop society so although not judging, you’d think there’s a bit of conflict of interest there....
We were prettier than them… blah… now I’m being petty… but these girls have a photo of four OTHER girls on their facebook quartet page… probably because they know they’re difficult to look at too.
One of the girls is very large and has just sustained an ankle injury… she’s too large for crutches so she was getting around on a scooter. We think they got the sympathy vote…
I’m really pissed.. I was so upset leaving that place yesterday..
Bass girl and Bari girl ended up coming over and we had a couple of drinks and some pizza and watched a movie.. that was nice..
As much as they can irritate me we do rally together in hard times and I do love those girls. It’s like any family I guess.

I was so down even after they left though and then hubby came home and went on a rant about how son is doing nothing with his life and what am I going to do about it. Honestly, I’m sick of that conversation. I just wanted some soothing.... I know he didn’t understand how upset I was and a day later the sting of it isn’t as bad but I wish he could have just let up for one night.

So today hubby is working in the morning so I’ve done my 24k. He’s coming home and we’re going out to lunch at TGIF’s, then he’s going back to work so that should be nice… I’ll be able to gather my thoughts and regroup for the coming week.

One more week and one day till I’m on leave and hubby and I still have no idea where we’re going. We WILL be in Canada at some point. Of that I’m 95% certain… I mean he has to really see his daughter and grand kids but I’m not looking forward to that at all....

And I’ve probably said it too much but in my last entry there’s a clip of my quartet if you want to take a look....


blackpropaganda May 03, 2015

It is disappointing, even if you know that you might not be good enough - I just wondered how much does looks come into the judging? I know how competitive these things are - but hopefully a bit of re-grouping will give some perspective. Now you know what an Oscar loser feels.

January Child blackpropaganda ⋅ May 03, 2015

haha.. well looks isn't supposed to come into it apart from presentation... I mean you can't look sloppy but you can be ugly and well presented lol

I'm just going through my bitter phase. It will pass and we will regroup and push on...... and the Oscar thing helps puts things into perspective!! lol

whowhatwhere May 03, 2015

2pts isn't that much, sorry you lost. :(

Don't know where else you are going? Florida of course! Why is that even a question?! Message me on FB and let me know when you will be here! ;)

No really, Florida is wonderful!
It is fun!
We have awesome beaches and theme parks.
How can you miss Florida?!?!?

January Child whowhatwhere ⋅ May 03, 2015

and I've always wanted to go!! It just seems to be far away from other places we are going.. but I'll definitely let you know if we do happen to come by your way :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.