Advanced Boredom Currents in shiny things

  • April 29, 2015, 1:41 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Apparently someone broke Banner, and all of our Vital Operating Systems are down. And have been down all day, and are not expected to return anytime soon. Which means… I can not do one single thing that I need to do. I need Banner and all its assorted bits for absolutely everything my job entails! I’m bored out of my mind!! Well, I actually could file and organize.. but I’m not that bored. At least the internet is not down. Yet.

Current annoyance: Well, after the “You have to sit here all day long but you can’t do one single thing you really really need to do” annoyance: I’ve been trying to organize my last five months or so of photos, which I’d saved to dropbox and need to upload to Flickr, but either Flickr is also broken or my total-piece-of-shit computer can’t handle it. I was top of the list for a new computer, and then the state demanded all our budget money back before it got purchased. I’ve been in this office for eight years now and I’ve never had anything but hand-me-down and refurbished computers. Oh, the joys of working for a Republican-dominated state that hates education. I remember the days when my computer at work was WAY better than my computer at home, but that’s been many years ago. Now I’m wishing I had my laptop. Which is a very middle-of-the-road laptop but at least it doesn’t crash constantly.

Currently eating: Well, I already ate it, but it was a salad with figs, blue cheese, tomatoes, walnut oil and balsamic vinegar. This was a modification of a salad I loooove, which is just assorted greens, blue cheese, figs, toasted walnuts, walnut oil and pepper. I was too lazy to toast walnuts last night so did tomatoes instead, and balsamic vinegar. It would have been quite good (although not as good as the original with the toasted walnuts) except the blue cheese is… weird. I made the original last week and bought this blue cheese for it, and kept thinking it was .... weird. Not nearly as good as blue cheese generally is. Kind of…strange. I adore blue cheese, but I’m kind of picking at this thinking, “eewwwwww.. this is really not good and it smells kind of awful too!”

I just realized what is wrong with it, based on the weird strange ewwwww aftertaste that is STILL in my mouth and won’t go away despite gallons of water.

GOATS MILK BLUE CHEESE. It’s damned goat cheese!!! Goat cheese is pretty much the only cheese I don’t like, and DUH. This tastes like GOATS. No wonder I kept thinking it was kind of nasty. It never crossed my mind to make sure it wasn’t goat cheese. But I bought it at our fancy grocery and they apparently idolize goat cheese, and every time I try a free sample there I have to check that it’s not goat cheese, because 90% of the time it is.

Current Excitement: My current excitement is helping to offset my recent England Trip Postponement Vast Disappointment that I am STILL experiencing even though I have come to terms with it. Kim and I are going to Charleston in June - during a few days originally scheduled for our England Trip - and I just booked the room! Yay!!! We are staying at the lovely Red Roof Inn on Mount Pleasant which is very reasonably priced, and I have a certificate for a free night as well, so it’s going to be a cheap vacation. Cheap and lots of fun. Not England, but now I have that to look forward to next year. We’re only staying three nights but it will be a fun break.

Current Weather: COLD. Well, I see it’s 56 so it’s not exactly freezing but I am ready for some warm weather. And it will be in the upper 30s tonight, which is very annoying. Time to go away, winter. There are things blooming, at least. And I’m still hoping my wisteria will bloom – it often gets killed before it can bloom, which is maddening.

This was blooming last week on the greenway:
alt text

alt text

And there were adorable finches on the finch sock a few days ago!

alt text

The finch sock has hung there for at least a year, and I’m pretty sure this is the first time I’ve seen a finch on it. It seems like we get finches maybe one day a year. I do not know what is up with that.

Let me know if you can’t see these- I’m getting them off my facebook, since I of course don’t have them loaded up to Uncooperative Flickr yet as I’m five months behind.

Currently Watching: Well, not right this second, but as in lately. We just finished the most recent season of Doctor Who, FINALLY. Every year it takes ages to show up on Netflix – or anywhere. We don’t have cable so don’t get BBC America which means everyone else on earth saw it long ago and is on to other things by now. But I will say I LOVE the new doctor. I like him better than Matt Smith, although David Tennant is still my favorite. Clara is growing on me. At least I’ve quit missing Amy Pond, who I didn’t like at all until Rory became her co-companion, rendering Amy a little less irritating. Clara making me miss Amy was pretty sad. Clara wasn’t even annoying - I just didn’t really see the point of her. She’s certainly no Rose. And no Donna. But at least I can tolerate her.

Last night we started watching Broadchurch. OMG. Broadchurch is amazing. I’ve actually already watched both seasons of it, and hounded Baker B until he agreed to watch it too because I knew he’d love it - and I really wanted to see it again. It’s that good. Fantastic actors, twisty turny scary storyline – an 11 year old boy is murdered in a little seaside town in Dorset - gorgeous scenery. Speaking of the Best Doctor, David Tennant stars in it. And is so NOT Doctor Who that you pretty much immediately forget he ever was Doctor Who. Along with Olivia Coleman who I also love from several British shows. And, oddly, Rory, the Other Companion. And a whole bunch of other great actors. Anyhow, I’m quite pleased to be getting another viewing of it.

And now it’s finally time to go to lunch. I feel like I’ve been here a week solid.


Lyn April 29, 2015

That's crazy that work is down. You need to write another entry!

I look forward to hearing about your vacation and seeing the pics.

noko April 30, 2015

I am so sorry about Banner being down. For us it is Oracle and luckily it has only been down a few times for only an hour or so but I can imagine.
I am on episode 3 of season 1 of Broadcdchurch and I recognized the priest was familiar right away but was so excited to suddenly get that it was our nurse "Rory! I love hearing David Tennant speak in his natural accent even if he is mumbling. I shall have to catch up on The Doctor.

edna million noko ⋅ April 30, 2015

I know, hearing his cool Scottish accent is one of my favorite things. OH and Gwen from Torchwood is a major character in Season 2!!

noko edna million ⋅ April 30, 2015

Gwen!!! Must watch. Someone told me it got more like a soap opera in Season 2. But for Gwen, who cares?

edna million noko ⋅ May 01, 2015

I think a lot of people thought season 2 wasn't as good, but I liked it. It was very different. More about the mysterious first case that Detective Doctor was running from. And I hear there will be a season 3 - can't wait to see how that will work!

edna million noko ⋅ April 30, 2015

We've had several of these day-long breakdowns, unfortunately. It seems like once a year there's a catastrophe. It's back up this morning mostly, although registration is still down. Oracle has something to do with our Banner, but I'm never quite sure how that works.

noko edna million ⋅ April 30, 2015

Banner is apparently an Oracle based software system. They share a database, so the info actually doesn't reside in Banner, it goes and gets it from Oracle. In my shop we keep them separate. Although exactly how that manifests appears to be arbitrary. :)

noko April 30, 2015

Broadchurch.

Deleted user May 01, 2015

I am going to have to check Broadchurch out ! I do not miss working on computer programs. At my old job it seemed like every two years they installed a new totally ridiculous program that would stress me out trying to learn to use. Our computers were always crap too.
I envy your your trip to Charleston!

Deleted user May 01, 2015

I could see your pictures ! They are lovely ..

Justlovely May 01, 2015

AH! I love your birds. Can't say we're Dr. Who fans in this house. The older one likes it, but the younger one has been freaked out too much, so I had to ban it from Saturday morning cartoon time. I'm glad you'll get to make a trip in June, and I may try to crash you if the timing is right. I got totally suckered in by "Happyish" on Showtime Sunday night. Figures. We're getting free Showtime for the next three months, which is enough for me to become obsessed with the show, and then... no more Showtime! P says they count on that, to get you to pay for it. We shall see!

jamez May 04, 2015

I had a flickr-e-mail to announce your new photographs on there site, I like your images of Charleston an area of America I would like to visit, as I was looking at your photographs I remember my Sister was visiting Savannah in March; my Brother-in-law was there for a conference so she had time to wonder.
I thought these to cites must be quite close to gather, but remembered how big America is and they could be hundreds of miles apart, I look at Google Earth and found they were just 85 miles apart; of course my Sister didn’t wonder as far as Charleston.
I noticed the photographs were taken at Christmas last year, I hope you had a good time there.
I’ve just looked at your recent photographs, I liked the first and fourth images, very good photographs.

Note, I have sent this to a friend in Canada by mistake, just a few miles out ………

I like the spring time photographs very much. And what happened with your England Trip!

edna million jamez ⋅ May 05, 2015

Thanks!! It took me so long to upload them to Flickr that I'd nearly forgotten them. I actually meant to post some here at Christmas so maybe I will now! Charleston is absolutely gorgeous - if you ever come over this way, I'd highly recommend it. I haven't been to Savannah in years, but liked it too - not as much as Charleston, though. We go to Charleston pretty often because it's not that far from here - 4 1/2 hour drive - and isn't terribly expensive if you stay in the cheap Red Roof Inn on Mt Pleasant. We entertain ourselves by walking and stopping for beer and walking some more, so that's not too pricey either.

Our England trip had to be postponed till next summer - 2016- due to my friend and I both having massive financial ,,,,issues. It just made a lot more sense to postpone, but I am SO disappointed. I keep telling myself I can look forward to it for another year now, but it was quite a blow! The good thing is I think my husband will go with us next summer, and we'll probably stay in Wiltshire again.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.