Flash friday: The check... in fiction: flash, one word, etc.

  • Aug. 9, 2013, 11:45 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Fait Accompli

“Perfection isn’t so much to ask for, not in a world with surgery to lift this, creams to smooth that. We’ve come a long way since Frankenstein, and with stem cell injections and bird poop facials and salt scrubs from every dead body of water on the planet why not new ones?”

“This isn’t like believing in just one more magic potion.”

“I know.”

“But you want me to do it anyway?”

“It might bring the zest back, the spice. It might make us ...happy.”

“It might make us more miserable than we are.”

“But shouldn’t we try? Shouldn’t we at least try?”

“I don’t know. I think sometimes we should just let well enough alone.”

“You are happy like this? “

“I’m not unhappy. Are you? I mean, really? What if it hurts more than it helps?”

“I put the check in the mail yesterday.”

*for anyone still looking for a prompt and you can't find one in the excellent lists, try your hand at Fait Accompli!>>>an accomplished fact.


Linda August 09, 2013

Great dialogue. Bird poop facials! Eeeew. :)

haredawg drools August 10, 2013

Excellent

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.