Well, then! Let's just WORK all summer long! in A New Beginning

  • April 27, 2015, 3:13 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

We missed a lot of school this past winter. I thoroughly enjoyed it! We had very few five-day workweeks! And I reveled in every single glorious day off. But now, alas, it’s come time to pay the Piper. I don’t much like him! Word’s come down that we have to make up five days! The kids don’t have to; WE have to. That has us going ‘til June 17th, which sucks. Not many will care about my piddly little problem, mind you, since most people who work don’t get the summer off anyway. sigh

On the up side, though, I did finally get my days off approved for my surgery! :o) !! So I will be off on June 4, 5, 8, 9, and 10!

I have been feeling pretty tired and frazzled again. I guess that it was just the big change, when Joey moved, that gave me a temporary perk-up. I didn’t really expect Joey’s moving to have cured my hyperparathyroidism though, but the burst of energy was awesome while it lasted! ;o) This morning I woke up tired, went to work tired, worked all day tired, and still am tired! And I had a great sleep last night, too. But I woke up right in the middle of a dream. I don’t know why I woke up when I did, because the alarm wasn’t gonna go off for ten more minutes. But I think waking up in a deep sleep leaves a person feeling tireder, regardless of how long s/he’s slept. That’s my theory and I’m sticking to it!

Wendy (remember her, my Bff?) emailed me a very odd request, or at least I think it was. She and her daughter’s family are going to California for six days in May. Her husband Steve is not going. She asked me if I would mind going over there to give her cat, Samuel, his insulin shot, while she is away. I know Samuel gets the shot once a day. I’m thinking....why the heck can’t Steve do it? Her house is not on my way home from work; it’s 20 minutes farther on, sooooooooo....

But she added, “or should I ask Annie?”

Well, yeah, Annie lives less than half a mile from Wendy and often works from home, and they are good friends. Why not ask Annie, considering how much closer she is? But Annie also might say, “Well, why can’t Steve do it?” I mean, I think that either me OR Annie would feel kinda weird if we were over there looking for the darn cat to give him a shot and Steve came home! We’d be all, “oh, hi Steve....er, I’m just poking around in your house looking for your wife’s cat so I can give him a shot because she apparently didn’t think you’d have enough sense to do it!”

Used to be, I at least would’ve felt a modicum of guilt for not saying I’d do it, but one thing hyperparathyroidism has taught me is how to just say “fuck it.”

I’m going to go now, and maybe lie down with Joe ‘til suppertime. :o) I hope you all have a nice peaceful evening, and a great day tomorrow!

hugs and blessings,
Nicky


Silent Echo/Quiet Storm April 27, 2015

sure am hoping that once you recover from your surgery you will have more energy most of the time. you told wendy no, right? she has annie who is much closer to her than your home is. would be a better fit. there are times we just have to say no when we don't want to do something. and as we get older we need to say no more often. take care,

Here I am again! Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ April 27, 2015

Well, I told her she should ask Annie because Annie lives so close, Annie is a cat person, and I've never given a pet a shot before.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm Here I am again! ⋅ April 28, 2015

when angela's cat, nikita, was alive, she developed diabetes and we had to give her a shot morning and night. it was scary to me to give her a shot but, i got used to it. it's really easy. we gave it to first thing in the morning. that was my job. i gave it to her when she was on the bathroom counter eating. it was easy then. she didn't even flinch cause she was busy eating. angela gave her the evening shot. i don't want to have to do that ever again. i could never be a nurse and have to give people shots! take care,

patrisha April 27, 2015

So, what will you be doing on those five days? There will be no kids to feed, right?

Here I am again! patrisha ⋅ April 27, 2015

My guess is. we will be taking our time, cleaning stuff that is already clean!

thesunnyabyss April 27, 2015

so how come the kids don't have to make up the time too?

I think I'd say no as well, 20 minutes out of your way is a lot, especially if her friend is just half a mile down the road and her husband will be home,

enjoy your snooze!!

Here I am again! thesunnyabyss ⋅ April 27, 2015

I guess because the roads WERE terrible and it really WASN'T safe to come to school! But apparently we have to work a certain number of days to earn our salaries, so Go us.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.