Dogma Debate in The start of something?

  • Aug. 9, 2013, 10:37 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

About 15 years ago I made the transition from fundamentalist christian to atheist. That transformation took four or so painful years. I went through a lot of emotions and had to rediscover who I was and what I actually truly thought about things.... At that time I searched the internet for people who were looking for answers like I was and listened to tons and tons of debates.

Through the years I still keep in touch with things and still listen to lots of debates. At the beginning I think I really wanted to be proven wrong. I needed Christianity to be right because I didn't want to think I'd wasted all those years for nothing. Till this day, there hasn't been one christian that has made me stop and think "yeah, he's got a point there". Mostly all I see is them side stepping the issues and I get it. The reason for that is that christianity is not about being rational. It's about having faith. I'm ok with that for YOU. I just don't want it for me and I'll keep my opinions to myself if you keep your opinions to yourself. (This entry is an exception of course but then, I'm writing what's in my head right, not posting to facebook)

I have no desire to convert anyone. I allow everyone to believe whatever they want and I truly live my life that way.

Anyhow I didn't want to write about that history, I mostly wanted to share a podcast I'd just found https://itunes.apple.com/au/podcast/dogma-debate-david-smalley/id493845276?mt=2 It's pretty good!!! I've been listening to a few now. I love the style. From the shows I've heard so far, no one gets angry, it's just an exchange of ideas and the questions that are being asked are good valid questions...

So, if you have any interest at all in this subject, I'd recommend it.


Deleted user August 09, 2013

I can respect your point of view... and I certainly have to give you a certain amount of respect for being respectful of other peoples believes and such... have a great night...

ElvenAssassin August 10, 2013

bookmarked now :)

I need tea. August 10, 2013

I'l have a listen thanks x

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.