Week 16 Survey in Humanity

  • April 27, 2015, 5:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

How far along? 16 Weeks

How big is baby? She’s about the size of an avocado: 4 1/2 inches long (head to rump) and 3 1/2 ounces.

Total weight gain/loss: Up to about 112; which is about net / 6 lbs gained

Maternity clothes? So into these right now. Starting to create a whole new look for this pregnancy. Sort of Boho meets Comfy. Or something…

Sleep: We’re back to normal here now that I kicked my severe sinus infection. I had the worst sleep for about a week – I had to sleep basically sitting up and couldn’t breathe through my nose for over a week. Pretty terrible.

Best moment this week: I had a really lovely/emotional Skype chat with my sister who lives in Australia. She’s been sending these super sweet and thoughtful pregnancy gifts and it just makes me miss her so much. I miss her anyway, but the perfection of her gifts has just made me miss her even more.

Worst moment this week: I had a REALLY great week. Work is en fuego, I’m back into a groove of working out, we had dinner with a few family members in town on Thursday, we had a date night with some friends of ours on Saturday and got to sleep in on Sunday and we took Joaquin to California Adventure last night on a whim. So much fun, not much to complain about.

Movement: None yet.. thinking we might get some in about 4-6 weeks.

Food Cravings: Salad (YAY!), Granola with Coconut milk, iced herbal teas, decaf lattes, PROTEIN

Food Aversions: None at the moment. Loving the second trimester!!

Gender: GIRL :)

Labor Signs: NOOOOOOO! But I did feel a weird pulsing all over my belly when I was trying to fall asleep a few nights ago. I think it’s still too early to be feeling braxton hicks or any movement, but it was awfully strange (not painful, thankfully)

Pregnancy Symptoms: a tiny bit more weight gain, even more intensity in the round ligaments when I sneeze or move too fast. Running this weekend was a bit challenging, but I think it’s just because I basically had to take 2 weeks off due to my sinus issue.

Belly Button in or out? In

What I miss: Pretty content at the moment.

What I am looking forward to: Massage on Sunday night!

Upcoming appointments/events:
Pilates session today
Birthday party this weekend (Quinn) (May 2nd)
Mother’s Day tea at Joaquin’s school (May 6th)
Day trip to SF on the 7th
Trip to Chicago and Austin for work (May 10th-16th)
Which reminds me.. need to reschedule my Dr. appt for the 12th…

Milestones (BabyCenter):
Get ready for a growth spurt. In the next few weeks, your baby will double her weight and add inches to her length. Her legs are much more developed, her head is more erect than it has been, and her eyes have moved closer to the front of her head. Her ears are close to their final position, too. The patterning of her scalp has begun, though her locks aren’t recognizable yet. She’s even started growing toenails. And there’s a lot happening inside as well. For example, her heart is now pumping about 25 quarts of blood each day, and this amount will continue to increase as your baby continues to develop.

Current favorite GIRL names: Aurion is leading the pack this week.


MaggieTheCat April 27, 2015

A girl...lovely!

How do you say Aurion? Au ri' on? Au' ri on?

rubix cube MaggieTheCat ⋅ April 27, 2015

Hmmm -- I think this is what we are thinking: OR-"eye"-on :)

MaggieTheCat rubix cube ⋅ April 27, 2015

Lovely!

daylight rubix cube ⋅ April 27, 2015

So it's like the girl version of Orion?

What are some other contenders? I looooooove discussing names!

rubix cube daylight ⋅ April 27, 2015

Yes, we're also entertaining just simply "Orion"

Lily and Amaya have also been mentioned ....

TrippyNina April 27, 2015

The 2nd trimester is definitely the best! :)

January Child April 29, 2015

Hmmmm trying to remember if I already knew you had a sister in Australia. Is she in Sydney?

rubix cube January Child ⋅ April 29, 2015

She's in Victoria? Melbourne I think?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.