Salt & Bleach in Poetry is the Window to the Soul...

  • April 26, 2015, 7:16 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

And sometimes the inspiration comes from letting your bleeding heart stain the words on the pages..

“Salt & Bleach”

Fuck your heart
Fuck your mind
Fuck your love
Fuck your quiet
I don’t want you
I can’t stand you
Everything love creates
Crumbles around you

You are salt
You are bleach
You are the worst
At honesty
So hold on hard
Hold me tight
Pretend again
You are not the very
Absence of light!

I fell hard
Thought you rare
My voice coaxed you
Got so close to you
Wore you soft
Wore you true
Like a crushed green velvet
Corset of desire
So very sultry
Silky and smooth

While you were more
Cheap burlap
In the sack
A coarse lover
Eager to want
Attention mad
Swallowing love
Like a starving lion
Devours a man!

And all I wonder is
Did I ever even
Fucking matter!?

You are salt
You are bleach
The kind of love
That only bleeds
I forgave you once
Oh, I forgave you twice
Loved you forever
For always
And I’ve paid the price!

You were my always
My promise of forever
Instead you are
The homicide of trust
With such a pretty face
A true harlequin
In low-cut lace
You are a shallow
Unsteady place

You are salt
You are bleach
Hard to swallow
Impossible to please
The very first part of
Bitter-sweet!

You held reckless
My heart and a glass
The Goblet of Forever
But you are oil-based
Such a slippery thing
Selfish at heart
Only you matter
So easily distracted
Soon my heart falls
As too the glass
Both find the floor
Shattered at last!

You are salt
You are bleach
You are the worst
At honesty
Heartless harlot
Tethered to me
And any man
That pays you heed
Let me go
Let me breathe
I am tapping out
On you & me

You are salt
You are bleach
You are the worst
At honesty
Wear with pride
Your scarlet letter
You have earned it
Still, you manage to matter
You are an ink stain of the heart
Name tatted on my chest
My love is For Always
For Forever
A catastrophic kind of
Lasting disaster

© Brian Milici
April 26, 2015

I edited, revised, changed, added, removed and abused this thing for the past two days. This is why I never edit. I write. I hit save. Post it. And run away. lol. Sorry if it’s choppy as hell and bizarre for that very reason.

Feedback adored.

May you always find your smile.


Last updated April 26, 2015


Lobbastah April 26, 2015

Yes! Angry poetry!

LoveSuicide Lobbastah ⋅ April 26, 2015

I take it you're a fan of the angry? :)

Lobbastah LoveSuicide ⋅ April 26, 2015

Well, my own is usually more pitiful and victimy, but angry is good!

LoveSuicide Lobbastah ⋅ April 26, 2015

Your own angry poetry or just poetry in general?

Yeah, I certainly tend to write lovey sappy poetry. Haha, as my best friend Annie coined it.. "Brian, you write fluffy bunny poetry."

I guess hide the wabbits here. :)

Lobbastah LoveSuicide ⋅ April 26, 2015

Ha, I read that as "fluffy banana pudding." Hmm.

Your poetry is indeed fluffy though.

I'm not sure I've ever written angry poetry. But I can definitely relate to angry poetry, when the anger is directed at the opposite sex.

LoveSuicide Lobbastah ⋅ April 26, 2015

laugh.. I think I prefer the pudding given the option of the two!

Fluffy. I'll take that as a compliment.. I think! chuckles

Well, I wasn't angry while writing it.. you've never written just like a venomous poem? ponders

Lobbastah LoveSuicide ⋅ April 26, 2015

No, I haven't. Mine are sad... wistful... though there are a couple about love.

LoveSuicide Lobbastah ⋅ April 26, 2015

Aww.. wistful can be the best sometimes.

Lobbastah LoveSuicide ⋅ April 26, 2015

I messed up yesterday. I wrote an amazing poem in my head, and I didn't write it down! Now I can't remember what it was.

LoveSuicide Lobbastah ⋅ April 26, 2015

I hate that. I think my best poems are unwritten and forgotten when I'm almost asleep and my mind's just wandering.

Lobbastah LoveSuicide ⋅ April 26, 2015

Yep, that's how it happened. I was laying in bed and thinking I needed to get it written...zzzzzzzzzz.

LoveSuicide Lobbastah ⋅ April 26, 2015

Yup. We lose the words in the quiet.

Lobbastah LoveSuicide ⋅ April 26, 2015

It sucks, because it was so good! At least in my mind. I keep hoping it will come back to me.

LoveSuicide Lobbastah ⋅ April 26, 2015

What was the concept?

Lobbastah LoveSuicide ⋅ April 26, 2015

I don't remember. I'm sure it was some broken-heart metaphor.

LoveSuicide Lobbastah ⋅ April 26, 2015

So you think about the wanting for mending heart before slumber?

Lobbastah LoveSuicide ⋅ April 26, 2015

I think about all kinds of things. I must have, I assume, been thinking about a specific person and situation/feelings, which inspired the poem, but I cannot for the life of me remember.

LoveSuicide Lobbastah ⋅ April 26, 2015

Hmm does one particular guy or instance inspire you more often?

Lobbastah LoveSuicide ⋅ April 26, 2015

Not really. When I get some peace (like when the kid goes to bed tonight), I might try to think about it and let it sink in. Think about each one, most recent first, and see if anything comes back to me.

LoveSuicide Lobbastah ⋅ April 27, 2015

I hope it returns to you

Lobbastah LoveSuicide ⋅ April 27, 2015

It did not. :(

LoveSuicide Lobbastah ⋅ April 27, 2015

Aw hugs!

Waiting For Sunrise April 28, 2015

Although I see what you mean about it not flowing in the same way as your other work, I like that; because even in writing, not everything is imparted by words alone. The shorter, sharper, less-rhythmic lines reflect how you felt as you wrote- everything we say tends to be shorter and sharper when we are in pain, and this is only another way of communicating that. No need to sanitise that pain by trying to smooth the edges off.

LoveSuicide Waiting For Sunrise ⋅ April 30, 2015

As always you have a tremendous way of stating the obvious and you do it in such a pretty way. I guess English doesn't just sound better with a British accent. With you it sounds better in every form. :)

I did have a few gals say they almost feel bad for the subject/girl I wrote it about. I found that interesting!

Waiting For Sunrise LoveSuicide ⋅ May 01, 2015

Haha, hopefully stating the obvious is less irritating when fetchingly framed in excessive verbosity! :)

Hm, I see their point but I don't feel bad for her (to be fair, I gather from the verse that she was less than honourable towards you while you were together, so the anger seems well-deserved..) in fact I think I relate to her; I see myself like salt and bleach, harsh and abrasive and caustic.

LoveSuicide Waiting For Sunrise ⋅ May 01, 2015

Excessive verbosity.

Darling, you should always always always be verbose. You have a true talent, and we're all the better for you using it. :)

Hmm. Interesting. I don't see you as salt and bleach at all! You actually seem sweet.

Don't argue about that either. Cause I so know you'll probably disagree. Your nose wrinkle reading that you're sweet? lol.

Waiting For Sunrise LoveSuicide ⋅ May 03, 2015

Ugh, I'm so predictable!

turns face away to hide wrinkled nose

LoveSuicide Waiting For Sunrise ⋅ May 03, 2015

The last thing you are is predictable, dear.

Though I must say I'm deeply curious as to why you find yourself the opposite of sweet. .?

I'm not sure you want to answer given the layers with which you so expertly cover your expression in, but if you are willing to share I'm dying to know. :)

izy. April 28, 2015

When anger happens, flow matters less.

LoveSuicide izy. ⋅ April 28, 2015

Aw hugs! Hi you!

izy. LoveSuicide ⋅ May 06, 2015

<3 (sorry, I didn't reply earlier)

LoveSuicide izy. ⋅ May 06, 2015

You have nothing to be sorry for, I'm thrilled to see you!! :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.