Happy Birthday John in Another Open Diary refugee

  • April 26, 2015, 1:02 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s John’s birthday today… he has Friday and Monday off work, and he’s taking the same days off next month for my birthday… unfortunately, my body decided that it didn’t want us to do anything fun this weekend, and TOTM showed up Friday morning to have me curled up feeling sorry for myself for two days straight… more unfortunately, the timing means that MY birthday weekend will go exactly the same way. Sigh… I warned John and told him that if he wants to change his days off for my birthday feel free, because we won’t be going anywhere exciting.

Anyway, I made him a birthday breakfast today and gave him a card I made this morning. I put a pork butt into the crockpot to make some nice braised pork for dinner. I hope it works out! He wants banana pudding and that’s easy to make, though I’ll have to leave the condensed milk out because of the huge sugar content… I don’t really like the stuff, I’m making it mostly for him.

I was pleased with myself over one thing - I bought John a heavy-duty camp chair for his birthday, and he’s very pleased with it… I thought of it Wednesday when we went to the beach and I saw everyone with their beach/camp chairs lined up on the sand, and John was sitting up under the shelter because that was where the picnic benches were… when we first got married I wanted to buy him a chair but I couldn’t find anything cheaper than about $200 - this one was only $60, so it was well inside what we could spring for a birthday gift, AND I was able to have it here on Friday because it was Amazon Prime eligible. This chair has an 800lb weight limit, which is twice what we actually need, but I didn’t want to risk a lighter chair not being as sturdy as it said it was when this one was only a few bucks more expensive (they had some really cheap chairs that claimed to hold 500lbs, but the reviews said that they were junk and fell apart after just a few uses. One of the reviewers recommended this one instead…). I don’t need anything anywhere near that heavy-duty, so he says we’ll get a lighter-weight chair for me for my birthday, and then we’ll be able to go out and enjoy Florida without worrying about where there’s any place that we can sit down to rest.


patrisha April 26, 2015

Happy birthday to John! Fred and I had a camping chair each which lived in his car because that was the car we took when we went to outdoor events. It is very convenient to carry chairs like this.

Everything Good Rebecca May 04, 2015

Happy Birthday to John! I loved that FB picture with the heron's by the way!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.