Brrrrrrr!! It's Cold Here!! in A New Beginning

  • April 26, 2015, 2:54 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

After it being 80 degrees and shorts-and-teeshirt weather last weekend, it has gotten cold again! BRRRR!! I am out here writing in the middle of the night, and so glad we hadn’t put my spaceheater away yet, because I have it on! I had hoped to mow again today, but if I do, I will probably be doing it in a coat!

I shut the door of Guinness’s room so he couldn’t come out here with me at 3 a.m. I love him, but it is nice to SOMETIMES sit here typing without him dropping all his toys around my chair, and standing there staring at me expectantly.

This has been a good weekend so far, and I’m just tickled to have one more day of it. Friday evening Joe had to go back into work to get one of the playing fields ready, and he asked if I minded him stopping by the local tavern for a few drinks. I said I didn’t, so long as it was a FEW drinks, so he did. Oddly enough, I stay up later when I’m by myself usually! So I was actually UP when Carrie called at 8:30! She had forgotten to call me earlier, and said “I thought I’d just take a chance and see if you were up, but I didn’t really think you would be!” We gabbed for close to an hour. That was nice!

And yesterday morning, EVEN THOUGH IT WAS SATURDAY!!!!, Joe and I were up at the crack of dawn, taking a truckload of books down to the big flea market to sell. These are “NAL rejects”.....perfectly good books, but just not the subject matter that’s right for the New Alexandrian Library. There are all kinds of books! History, art, science, psychology, cookbooks, health, even (gasp!) fiction. It wasn’t a particularly good day for trying to sell things outdoors, being so cold, but we sold more than 80 books and made some more money for the NAL.

We drove down in our separate vehicles so I could leave there around 9-ish, to go to the annual Ladybug (our state bug!) Festival with my sisters. That was fun, too, in spite of the chill. Everyone there was well-bundled-up, and no one saw any ladybugs! ;o)

What Joe does today depends on whether or not it rains. If it doesn’t rain, he’s going to do a couple hours of mowing at the school athletic complex, and go watch Joey play soccer later. If it’s raining, he won’t be doing either of those things. If it doesn’t rain, I reckon I will mow some grass, and if it does I might not do anything, hardly! :o) !! Personally, I’m hoping for rain! :o)

I am a little worried…not about my surgery but about the two weeks before my surgery. I won’t be allowed to take any Aleve, and without Aleve I am in so much pain. The only thing I can take for two weeks is Tylenol, and Tylenol helps for a few days but after that it doesn’t do much. :o( I wonder if it’s ok for me to use those patches, like Icy Hot or Salonpas? I’ll have to ask my surgeon. Has anyone had this experience?

Now I think I’ll go back to bed, and NOT get up very early this morning! I hope you have a lovely Sunday, my friends!

hugs and blessings,
Nicky


thesunnyabyss April 26, 2015

I hope it rains and you and Joe have a do nothing in particular type of day :)

Will used to use those Salonpas pads on his back, he liked them, but I have no clue if it would interfere with your surgery,

it is cold here this morning too, below freezing, until Tuesday when it will be almost hot out, lol,

have a great day my friend, hugs!!!

patrisha April 26, 2015

Here in NC we are also having two days of chilly, but even worse, NO sunshine!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.