So... in Home

  • April 25, 2015, 2:18 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Pretty sure I got the Churchill Fellowship!

I say ‘pretty sure’ because my application has been recommended to the Board for funding. I’m told by those in the know that at this stage it’s unheard of for the board to decline, though obviously there is potential they could, the reality (apparently) is that they never do in practice…

I heard on Wednesday. I haven’t really processed it yet. I’m not allowing myself to get too excited, but it’s a little hard. It means Finland, Norway, Sweden, Ireland, London, Spain and Malaysia during September and October. I’ll be researching adoption from care which will well and truly cement myself as the expert in this field in Australia. It’s a little bit crazy. And by ‘a little bit crazy’ I mean OHMYFUCKINGGODCRAZYWHATTHEACTUALFUCKTHISISAMAZING. Finland, Norway, Sweden, Ireland, London, Spain and Malaysia during September and October. Fully funded trip. Paid by work at the same time. Media coverage, career prestige, amazing opportunities. They receive 1,300 applications and award about 100. HOLYFUCKINGSHIT.

!!!

It desn’t feel real yet.

In other news, Dave has been performing nearby my place and we’ve spent every night together since Wednesday and it’s been the loveliest thing ever. We spent today together, though he’s now at Mim’s cooking dinner for her and the girls. I’ll see him again later tonight as we’re going out after his show… It’s been amazing. We get along so well and it’s just perfect. Seriously. We’re so ridiculously well matched. We were talking about the happiest times of our lives today, and he said, “and lately, getting to know you, of course”, and I laughed and told him that he didn’t have to say that, to which he responded that he meant it. Likewise for me, too.

I met Mim on Wednesday briefly. She smiled warmly and touched my arm. She seemed sweet and happy, and though I know the whole experience of seeing him with someone else was incredibly odd for her (they were together for 18 years, after all), she told him afterwards she thought I seemed lovely. Dave offered for me to meet his girls yesterday, but I declined- I want to have a conversation (or at least, for him to have one) with Mim on this first. It’ll happen soon, though, I’m quite sure, and I’m looking forward to it.

Robbie (John’s brother, so essentially like a brother to me) is staying with me tomorrow, and I’m in Melbourne next weekend for my sister’s birthday. It’s going to be fabulous to see my family again.

Life is pretty freaking amazing to me. The past few years of struggle and tears feel like nothing in the face of so much sunshine.


Last updated April 27, 2015


celador April 25, 2015

If you come over here I want to say hello! Xxx

Espoir Trouvé celador ⋅ April 27, 2015

Oh DEFINITELY! I will be arranging masses of OD catch ups! :) Are you near London?

celador Espoir Trouvé ⋅ April 28, 2015

Yep! Cambridge is a direct 45 minute train ride from London, easy as pie :)

Astra April 25, 2015

Yay!!!!!!! So proud of you. Hope it all gets confirmed soon xx

Espoir Trouvé Astra ⋅ April 27, 2015

:) Thanks lovely! I'm so glad you're writing here xoxo

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.