Singing birds this morning and a bit about our holiday in My new life, a book

  • April 23, 2015, 8:28 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s an early day today, 6 o’clock. The birds are singing all different kinds of songs. Lovely! It’s a pity I usually sleep this time of the day away. First thing is breakfast because of a scan later on. No food allowed within 4 hours.

It’s almost 3 weeks since we arrived home from Madeira. A fantastic holiday with nice temperature, a stunning view of the ocean and beautiful flowers everywhere.
The ocean view from our balcony was southward, nothing between us and the equinox I imagined. At times there were mountainous clouds like islands in the distance and small boats occasionally. Below if we walked near the edge we saw the fishing harbour of the little village at the foot of the mountain which we wanted to visit: You can take a taxi, 15 km. You also can walk, 1.9 km. We choose the second option though I was quite scared of the steep descend… it took me 3 whole hours one way. The not so many who passed me were much quicker. But I made it, with very sore knees. After a well earned rest and several cups (very small ones) of coffee we started the climb back to the hotel. A hot climb, now without any shade. Tom found it a burden, while down he always was ‘miles’ ahead. Now I could easily keep up with him. After one and a half hour I had to change a stoma bag and stepped from the path behind a bush. That must have been the right moment for the tick to step over. Another half hour and we were in our room where I intended to take a shower… yes, and discovered the tick.

We shouldn’t have been so eager to try to get it out without the right equipment… Mistake upon mistake, no reason for them. I know what a tick is, how to remove it AND have done that before. At the third try we finally had what we needed, a sort of spoon with an v-hole. However, because of removing parts of the beast before it was too deep in my flesh.
Next day, a Monday we took a taxi to a clinic to see a doctor. In my hand a piece of paper: ‘carrapata’ which means tick in Portugease. Indeed, no one who spoke English except for the taxi driver: Marco, thanks a lot!
The happening intervered with an excursion, but we still enjoyed our stay.

And now it would be great to show you a few photoos. I promise I’ll try again!

BTW, next 2 Tuesdays I get the result from the CT scan.


Last updated April 24, 2015


Lady of the Bann April 24, 2015

It's a beautiful place.

Fishermanswife Lady of the Bann ⋅ April 25, 2015

You know it :-) A good thing for I can't show any pictures.

bill_gardner May 31, 2015

Hope the results of the scan were good, and that the tick had no side effects.
love
Bill

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.