Surgery is scheduled! Whooooopie!!!!! in A New Beginning

  • April 22, 2015, 4:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

After work today I drove up to Dover to meet with the ENT doctor, Dr. Wright, who is going to do my parathyroidectomy. She, like my endocrinologist Dr. Parker, is AWESOME! They are both cheerful, friendly young women....well for all I know they might be 40, but that’s pretty young!....and they really inspire confidence. :o) !! I feel very blessed. My surgery is going to be June 4th, so I will be taking five sick days off from work. I wanted to wait ‘til school was out for the summer, but due to several things, I’d have had to wait clear til July if I did that. It’s GREAT, though....I have five sick days; I might as well use them.

The funniest thing happened! Dr. Wright said she was going to do something that would probably seem very strange.

“What’s that?!” I asked.

“I’m going to look up your nose to see your voicebox,” she said.

At times I have the mind of a very young child. “You ARE?” I said. “I didn’t know you could see my voicebox from my nose!!”

“Well I can!” she said. “But I’ll have to spray something up your nose to numb it first. That might taste kinda bad.”

So, she sprayed this stuff up my nostril, and it tasted a bit bad but not ghastly. Mostly it tickled. Then she ran a long skinny tube up my nose and down my throat to look at my voicebox! Duh! I never saw THAT coming! It tickled too....since she had numbed it. I’ve heard that sometimes doctors go putting tubes down people’s throats and noses without numbing, and I just don’t see any reason at all for that.

Anyhoozle, though....so I’m all set! Surgery in not too much more than a month!
That means I will be done and feeling great before Joe and I go to Free Spirit Gathering later in June!! :o) !! That’s a 5-day Pagan festival where people camp. This will be our first time to go for the whole thing, and I’m glad I will be feeling good!!!! :o) !!!!

I’m not worried about the surgery at all. The only thing I have some concern about is that I’m not allowed to take anything for pain except Tylenol for two weeks before the surgery. And I take Aleve every day for pain. I am hoping I will not be too miserable. It’s probably a very good thing that I’ll be working up ‘til the day of my surgery; my legs and hips don’t hurt much when I’m active. After the surgery, I probably won’t have pain! Turns out, bone pain is a symptom of hyperparathyroidism!

Have I mentioned, I sure am enjoying my more leisurely-paced days? I really needed this! :o) !!

It’s nearly time for our supper....vegetarian bean soup, hard-boiled eggs and green salad. After supper, who knows? I might stay awake ‘til Jeopardy time!
I hope you have a lovely evening too.

hugs and blessings,
Nicky


patrisha April 22, 2015

How nice that she numbed your nose. I have had that done and it hurt!

Deleted user April 22, 2015

Best wishes on your surgery.... :)

Deleted user April 22, 2015

Ouch!

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm April 22, 2015

so glad your doctor numbed your nose and throat. i think it could have hurt if she hadn't. hope you are feeling much better quickly after the surgery. take care,

Ragdolls April 22, 2015

Best wishes on your surgery. (Oh, so very glad you are back to writing!)

thesunnyabyss April 23, 2015

it certainly doesn't tickle without the freezing, lol,

hope all goes well with your surgery, hugs!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.