Screen Savor in Book of Lies.....

  • April 23, 2015, 1:36 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Has the world become so vacuous that our best friends are located within monitors and smart phones. Do we really care to look up anymore? When I wish to look away from these screens I want to go from down to straight away heavens above. The flesh of this planet seems to have gone to rot and desiccation. Our minds seem all that is left fighting the battle to salvage love and kindness. Our thinking processes seem immediately daunted when personal interaction is required. The mind becomes defensive. Wary. Doubting. Like a Gerbil in a room with a Badger. There is no place to fight. Escape the only plausible success strategy.
I still wish to touch your face and kiss your lips.... I wish to feel your fingertips.
But it seems these are fleeting pleasures and then comes questions, demands, disappointments, heartache, doubt, and despair.
I do not wish to be a blip on a screen but if do not wish to be a blood stain on the heel of a heartless shoe. We screw each other’s spouses and the spouses screw each other in court. We screw up our children while we ignore them screwing ourselves up all on our own. We criticize, over analyze, proselytize, compromise (our belief systems), ignore, abhor, and destroy what we prize and cherish.....
Lean close to the screen my beloved....

I want to kiss you on the lips
to feel your breath, your fingertips.
I wish to hear your thoughts and dreams,
I wish to quell your terrored screams.
I wish to be of something clear
to trust and then to hold you near
tis sad to know and then alas,
you hide yourself hind glowing glass
Computer screen photo: New Renegade computer setup PICT5524.jpg


Last updated April 23, 2015


Deleted user April 23, 2015

Skikkles911 April 24, 2015

Very nicely written. That last bit too was brilliant.

invisible ink Skikkles911 ⋅ April 24, 2015

thanks!

Waiting For Sunrise April 24, 2015

we criticize, over analyze, proselytize, compromise (our belief systems), ignore, abhor, and destroy

... love this bit especially, the way the it forces you to read it in a rapid rhythm that reflects the way all of these things pile on top of each other, suffocating..

I am definitely guilty of seeking the safety of impersonal interpersonal interaction... to open up that way in real life would be to truly expose myself, whereas online it can have no consequences that reach into my reality...

... The comment above where you described yourself as an extrovert resonated with me; that is a pretty accurate portrayal of what I am like in real life, too..

colojojo April 26, 2015

I try my best to avoid the screens and devices when I can...leaving my phone in my car, trying not to play games in bed at night like we all do.

"I fear the day that technology will surpass our human interaction. The world will have a generation of idiots." - Albert Einstein.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.