State of the Dragon Union in Everything Else

  • April 21, 2015, 11:39 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I feel as though I need an update of sorts in the “union” that is my life & since I am the president of my life, I have a State of the Union address of sorts.

Work
I took a week off (4/6 – 4/10) to spend with my family (more on that later) and when I came back I was just bombarded with problems. First there was my on-going printer issue that had started the week prior to vacation. I did everything before vacation I could to fix it and it still was being a dickbag, so I sent IT an email and discovered upon return that nothing had been looked at. I spent two days trying to fix the damn thing and had IT spend a few hours on it and finally got a replacement late Tuesday afternoon. That probably seems pretty quick, but not when you are behind and in need of a printer to do 90% of your job (hello, checks need to be printed!). I finally felt a bit caught up by Thursday afternoon, but realize now that I am still behind on three projects. Nothing I can’t get done this week, since this and next week are kind of my down weeks. I just got my filing done! Finally. That is probably the thing I hate to do most, so getting it done is always a huge win for me.

Relationships seem to be on pretty solid ground around here. PCB hasn’t been nearly as cunty or bitchy to me for a while so that is always a good sign. I am sure the tide will turn soon.

Friends
I am kind of tired of all the kid talk. It is all A ever texts me about or posts on f.b. I am just over it. I know that she thinks her kids are perfect & there is really nothing I can say or relate to. I just need someone I can talk to that isn’t always changing the subject to kids! I want to be able to vent and have some sort of sympathetic ear. Every time I text her, it goes off topic to her problems & kids! It was so much better when we were both single & “never” having kids! A lot has changed in three years and I just feel so out of touch with her sometimes.

Family
As I mentioned, my family visited and when I say family I mean my sister, nephews & brother-in-law. It was a long seven days. I hate that nobody wants to make decisions. If Mom & I try to decide something, there will be a hesitation because of the boys, but then when we leave it up to them, they don’t decide. The boys spent two nights at the house & I ended up on the couch the first night, without sleep and the second night I chose the floor, still without sleep. It was a wonder I didn’t go full on Red Ross from lack of sleep & total bitchyness. I love them, but they can be so infuriating at times. And the kids never shut up. NEVER. I couldn’t get any quiet time unless I was alone and that didn’t happen very often. Once while I ran to the office & once in the Qdoba bathroom.

Projects
I have several projects going and I am hoping to make some headway/decisions in the next few months with them. I decided that with my final three days off, I was going to go through my yarn stash and organize/weed it out. That worked to an extent before I couldn’t stand not being able to get through my studio or do any work at all. I did get rid of a lot of stuff, pulled some projects off the needles and planned out a few other projects (for the future!). I am hoping to get at least three projects done in May & June and two additional projects completed for Christmas gifting.

I am still trying to figure out the best way to organize my files, but every time I start working on them, I get overwhelmed. I am thinking about making it my main summer project since it is somewhat portable.

I am slowly getting back to paper crafting. I have a small series of cards & tags I want to get started on, but I need to let some things go first and I am having a hard time doing that. I am learning though, slowly, but still learning.

Overall State of Dragon Land
I would give the overall state of things a 7 out of 10. Things are fair. I have a somewhat clearer idea of where things are and where they are going. Still trying to find balance, but the scales are not as off kilter as they were.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.