More progress in My this and that

  • April 20, 2015, 11:03 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So, I’ve added regular runs to my schedule, as well as regular workouts, so hopefully seeing it on my calendar will help me to skip out less. I’m going to start some strength training as well as my cardio.

I did some yesterday, just doing body weights, and MAN! I can’t even lift myself… No push ups or anything. So, I guess that’s something else to work on. And it was suggested to do squats with weights and lunges and whatnot to build up the muscles in my legs so that it takes less pressure off my joints while I run. Good thoughts.

I went out this morning; and it wasn’t easy. It was SO windy in my face, and the snow felt a little like ice against my skin. 5 minutes in, I tripped and scraped up my knee and hands, and tweeked my ankle. My first thought was to turn around and go home and skip it. But I walked it off, and was able to try again. I did a full 17 minutes of straight running, a total of 25 minutes running, 10 minutes walking. Pretty good!

My ankle feels okay now, except I really feel the tweek when I walk down stairs, so I’ll have to be a bit careful with it I think.

Had a bad fever on Friday night. Just during the night. Started at about 10 p.m., and was gone about 8 a.m. Had a TERRIBLE night, but thankfully didn’t waste any of my weekend daytime, and I still had a good couple days off. Went to the mall with my mom which was fun; went out for lunch on Sunday with friends which was SOOOOO good. Got a big grocery shop done.

Have to find a good chicken and asparagus recipe for dinner tonight.

All of your notes of encouragement and support mean the world to me! Thank you.


Sapphire Knight April 21, 2015

Hmm guess I should have read this one first oh well. I didn't know u tweaked your ankle or had this run when I made that comment. I'll trust you to be careful though. From a running standpoint u probably want to work the most on reducing the rest time between runs during the workout. It's what I was taught and it's worked well for me. Don't reduce the initial time without stopping, that's the most important. after that though a walk time of 5 minutes and then a 2nd run of 5 minutes helps more than a walk time of 10 minutes and a 2nd run of 15 minutes for distance training. Keep up the good work:).

Gurly239 Sapphire Knight ⋅ April 22, 2015

Thanks for that. The ankle is doing well. I tend to do my big run first (so the 18 minutes) then about 3 minutes of walking, trying to keep a quick pace, then do another 10 of running, then 3 of walking, then I run the rest of the way home, however long that takes (usually about 4 minutes or so depending on how I've changed up my route). I think that sounds like what you are saying.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.