Lessing and more.... in The Book Book

  • Nov. 17, 2013, 7:37 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Doris Lessing died today. She was an incredible writer. She was one of us.

I thought I had a link to a story of hers but I find it does not work. Too much larceny in my soul, I guess.

But here is a picture from Reno Bottoms today -

 photo DSC08038.jpg


NorthernSeeker November 17, 2013

Oh...Reno Bottoms looks wonderful. I didn't get out for any walking this weekend due to my flu. No walking = no photos.

I read The Golden Notebook.

Lyn November 17, 2013

Godspeed to Doris.

RoseS November 18, 2013

I actually read her in college... contemporary lit. Looking back at the list of books we read, i'm actually surprised they were so forward thinking.

Great photo.

Kimber November 18, 2013

Here's a great article about her:

http://io9.com/rip-doris-lessing-one-of-science-fictions-most-indis-1466329614?utmcampaign=socialflowio9twitter&utmsource=io9twitter&utmmedium=socialflow

Deleted user Kimber ⋅ November 18, 2013

That was a good article. There's a link worth following in the article, too---it's the story of how Lessing submitted a book to her publisher under a pseudonym, to see if she could be published as a first-time author. The book was rejected.

Kimber November 18, 2013

Hmm, the last part of that didn't turn blue, but the link still seems to work for me. If it doesn't for you, let me know.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.