* Directional Energy * in Just Stuff

  • April 19, 2015, 2:19 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Over the next week, whenever someone other than you is angry, note the
direction of their anger–the target of the anger–and notice the subsequent
emotions of those “non-targeted others” around this person, including your
own.

Note the “politics” or laws that govern the use of anger in each situation.
Judge the relative strengths of everyone’s reactions, and classify them as “positive, life supporting” or “negative, harmfully stressful”.

Note how much time and effort goes into everyone’s attempts to process and
handle the situation even if they are “only bystanders who just watch”.
Note how long it takes for the “room to feel normal” afterwards.

Ask yourself,
When I am not the target of someone’s anger, but I do happen to be
physically near the person, do I feel as if I am, indeed, the target?

How often do I see an angry person being concerned and toning down their
expression of anger (stuffing it) for the benefit of the others who are
witnessing the anger? Does it work?

Can I hide my feelings?

How often do I get more angry than the situation calls for? If I were
perfectly psychologically healthy, how much would the intensity of my
typical “anger response” be mitigated?

If I get angry and then, a few minutes into the session, leave the room,
what is left behind? How does it feel inside a prison, a church, a funeral
home, a garden, a bus, a store, another’s borrowed clothing? Is there such
a thing as “a vibe”, or am I just projecting an emotional veneer upon a
stereotype? Blindfolded, ears plugged, and nose stopped up, could I tell
the difference between a prison and a church?

Am I always “vibing” my environment? When I am just sitting with an “ordinary, quiet, nothing much, mood”, what does that feel like to others?
If I were my ideal self, how would others “pick up on that difference”? How
would it feel to me? How does it feel to come into a room that I’m in?

If I were to take a fire hose and drench my surroundings with red paint,
would that in any way remind me of being angry?

When a dark curtain is suddenly pushed aside and the window thrown open, is
that anything like what it feels to others when I walk into the room?

What enters a room before I do?

Regards,
Rick


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.