Proud of ourselves yesterday! :o) !! in A New Beginning

  • April 19, 2015, 5:32 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

We are STILL always so busy. Zoom, zoom, zoom, this way and that; it’s what we do. But yesterday evening after supper, and after we took Guinness for his walk, we put him out on his chain and we did outdoor work! Joe got on his big tractor and plowed our garden, and I got on the lawn tractor and did our first mowing of the season. Now everything looks sooooo nice! :o) !! I just love this time of year. The only thing that would make it better would be....well, retirement, I reckon!

Yesterday was a really good day. Joe took a load of books to the big flea market down in Laurel yesterday, to sell for The New Alexandrian Library. Many well-known Wiccan Elders who have died in recent years have donated their entire libraries to the NAL. As we are now in the process of unpacking all the ZILLIONS of boxes, and putting the books on the shelves of the completed library, we find some that, while very good books, are not the subject matter that we are putting in our library. Our NAL is to be a storehouse of magickal and esoteric wisdom and knowledge. All fields of knowledge are valuable, but we’re not a general-purpose library! ;o) So books about myriad other things don’t belong there. They gave them to Joe to try selling, and what he can’t sell he can donate to worthy places.

I didn’t go with him, mostly because he planned on being down there by 6:30 in the morning, and to my mind, it was simply not necessary to be there so darn early! That is not what weekends are for! It is only April, not a super-busy time of year at the flea market. He could’ve shown up at 8:30 and had no trouble getting a table. But he wanted to finish early, so he could go golfing with Joey and his roommate Natalie in the afternoon. That was fine by me. I decided I’d use Saturday to do something with my sister Sandy. I don’t see her but once a week most weeks, when I’m working. So she and I went for breakfast at IHOP....the first time either of us had been to one....and then went shopping for gardening stuff.

Today hasn’t been my cup of tea exactly. I had a coven meeting. I love my coven, but we just gathered for a Dark Moon ritual on Friday night. I don’t need to see them two out of three days! Plus, I went to Wendy’s first, for coffee. We arrived on time, but later than some, and all the good seats were taken! And I don’t mind sayin, with my ass problem and my back-of-legs problem, I like to have a GOOD (meaning COMFY) seat. Instead I got a folding chair, and my ass and legs didn’t think that was very funny at all. Then, dumb as this sounds.....I WAY underdressed!! Yesterday was up to 80 degrees Fahrenheit, and I wore shorts and sleeveless blouse all day. I ASSumed today was going to be the same, so I left the house at 7:30 in shorts. It wasn’t warm, but it was only 7:30. I figured it would warm up, but it didn’t....and my folding chair was in line with a big open window. I was not tooooo cold, but shall we just say I could’ve been warmer?! Then two of our members (who ride together) were half an hour late for the VERY dumb reason of one of them forgetting to set her alarm....and we delayed the start of the meeting for them! I was thinking, :yea, well if YOU were sitting on THIS chair, Annie, you would not be so happy to wait around for half an hour!”

But anyhoozle....the meeting went on far far longer than it needed to, and I (even though I stole Denise’s spot on the couch when we all got up for a ten-minute break), and by the time it was done, I was NOT in the mood to linger and chitchat. (Besides, hadn’t we all just done that on Friday?!) So ZOOM, I came home. Actually, I went to the grocery store, got a sandwich from McDonalds, and then came home. I think my weekend was more tiring than my workweek! Tomorrow I go to work and rest!! ;o)

Since I’ve been home, though, I’ve done PLENTY of playing with Guinness (and took him for a walk), swept the floors, put away laundry, and planted the pansies I bought yesterday in my boxes on the deck railing! :o) !!

Now I’m going to go. I hope Joe is home soon. He went to his coven’s meeting today and it’s a two-hour drive. I kinda miss the guy! ;o)

hugs and blessings,
Nicky


Silent Echo/Quiet Storm April 19, 2015

don't like weekends that i am away from home a lot of the time. sounds like you had 'some' time at home to do things you need to do and get done. i do not like to sit on folding chairs. they are the most uncomfortable things i've ever put my rear end on and i try so hard not to do it anymore. glad you were able to get the couch! take care,

Deleted user April 19, 2015

My favorite flowers are pansies due to their little faces! It isn't warm enough here yet to plant my deck boxes. You are getting a head start!

Deleted user April 22, 2015

Love this entry... :)

thesunnyabyss April 23, 2015

that library sounds amazing,

I hate busy weekends, especially when spent on an uncomfy chair,

hugs!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.