Inside oxygen. in Spring time, sunshine and flowers, 2015

  • April 18, 2015, 10:01 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It is well documented that having plants in indoor spaces helps to oxygenate the air and I seem to have been accumulating plants without intent… I would like you to meet the vegetation of our abode.

Firstly is Spider, the spider plant. When my best mate moved back to Australia in 1997 she asked me to look after spider (and a yukka, but I failed the yukka…) Eighteen years later and its still here! Periodically we plant the babies and give them as gifts.

 photo IMAG2694.jpg

Next is the rainbow chilli that I bought at a chilli fair last summer, it was the end of the day and they were clearing up, I got this baby for £1. We’ve already had one crop of chillis from it and, as you can see, crop two is ripening :-)

 photo IMAG2687.jpg

Then we have Talaia’s oak tree. Eighteen months ago I took a large quantity of childminder children out and collected acorns, we all then planted them. On asking, later, I was told that most parents had thrown then out grrrr. Lila’s didn’t grow but Talaia’s did :-) we plan to build a tree house in it soon…

 photo IMAG2688.jpg

The Orange tree. Seven years ago a childminding child brought her lunchbox which included an orange, she asked to plant a pip do we did and this is the result!

 photo IMAG2689.jpg

Ignoring the fact that it needs watering, last year I found instructions on how to grow an avocado from the stone so I gave it a go. It was fun but it is very big now!

 photo IMAG2690.jpg

Lila’s class planted daffodil bulbs this winter. Us parents were guilted into then paying £1 for our darling child’s daffodil… Lila’s hasn’t flowered yet while the rest have flowered and wilted!

 photo IMAG2691.jpg

Amaryllis. Bought at Christmas and it was pretty, two big, red flowers. It should flower again next Christmas too :-)

 photo IMAG2692.jpg

Last, but no means least, this is Casper. One of Rich’s colleagues grows and sells chilli plants, he had a couple left over so gave Rich one. This is a ghost chilli ergo it’s named Casper… He was a small stick with one leaf when we got him, his roots just wrapped in a damp tissue but, under our guidance (and south facing window), Casper is thriving.

 photo IMAG2693.jpg

So, now you know or indoor oxygen givers :-)


woman in the moon April 18, 2015

I am so happy to meet your plants. I love the idea of naming them. I never thought of doing that. I am in love with the oak tree of course. My son tries to grow them outside but the rabbits always eat them - I will show him your potted version.

Deleted user April 18, 2015

I love this! I'm a houseplant lover too. I am especially impressed by your oak and avocado trees. :)

Deleted user April 18, 2015

I suddenly feel like I need more inside pants

ermentrude Deleted user ⋅ April 19, 2015

Are you like superman and wear your pants on the outside..?

Deleted user ermentrude ⋅ April 19, 2015

plants, oops

ermentrude Deleted user ⋅ April 19, 2015

Ha ha !

Food Master April 20, 2015

You must have a really Green Thumb! They are lovely!

edna million April 22, 2015

What a great crop of inside plants! Now I REALLY want to replenish mine. We have very little natural light in this house, and I've fallen out of the plant keeping habit. I do have plants in my office, at least, but it's kind of sad not to have them at home. I'm very impressed at the ones you've grown from seeds!

cheesyemoheart April 23, 2015

Beautiful plants! I just have one little vine, I don't even remember what kind it is but it's gotten a little bigger in the few years I've had it. This post really makes me want to acquire a few more!

thesunnyabyss April 23, 2015

you have a very green thumb, lol, I miss having more plants, we just don't have enough windows to support many in the light,

those ghost peppers scare me, lol,

hugs!!

Deleted user April 26, 2015

I love it !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.