gaslight (9) in Gaslight

  • April 17, 2015, 12:50 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Lydia watched through the peephole as the detectives walked away from her door. She hoped her pounding heart and sweat on her neck was unnoticed by the detectives. “Oh fuck, oh fuck, oh fuck” she whispered to herself and she leaned her head on the heavy oak door.

This can’t be happening to me Lydia thought as the detectives got into their vehicle. She was fairly sure the detective was the blonde she had seen that night. Lydia’s remark about her glance was a great understatement. Lydia had got a good look as the blonde was walking down the street before she approached the victim. Her insomnia may end up being the death of her.

The “Rap, Rap, Rap” on her door made her jump to the point where she almost fell backwards to the floor. Her heart began to race. Lydia felt dread come over her as she saw detective Becker back at her door.

The last thing Lydia wanted to do is open the door. She was unsure whether the detective had any idea she thought Becker was the murderer. Being wary now would only tip her off.
Kate spoke through the door.

“Ms. Somers, can I have a couple of follow up questions for you.” Lydia opened the door and gave the detective a meek smile and said “of course”.

As Lydia opened the door, Kate quickly stepped through the portico and swung the door closed. She rushed Lydia and pinned her against the wall pressing her body against hers in an almost lover’s embrace. Lydia felt as though her feet barely touched the ground as Kate spoke.

“You had a very special look for me Ms. Somers. I like when people have a special look. Do you think I am preeeeetty”.?

Kate emphasized the pretty and brought her face so close that her lips brushed against Lydia’s. Lydia said nothing and Kate continued.

“Maybe not pretty. Maybe something else. What could something else be? Wonder, wonder, wonder. What are you wondering Ms. Somers? Wonder, wonder, wonder. ”

Kate stepped back, smiled and said,

Oops, look at the time. My partner is waiting. Gotta go but Lydia my sweet I will be seeing you very, very soon.”

Kate gave Lydia a wink then grabbed her with both hands by the side of her head and forced and long hard kiss on her lips. Kate let her go and turned for the door and left with a wave. Lydia stood in astonishment and fear as the door closed. As though she was talking to the door Lydia said.

“I am so fucked.”

Kate jogged across the street and hopped into the police car. Murdoch gave Kate a questioning look. Kate responded and said.

” I think it worked. Somer’s seems scared like someone is going to figure out it was her who told. I promised we would do everything we can to keep her safe. I gave her my personal cell to just let her know she can count on me to keep my word about this.”

“Thanks for making the effort Kate. We really need a break on one of the these murders. I’m hoping it is a house of cards. One falls and the whole mess comes together.”
Kate looked out the side window in silence for a moment and finally replied,

“Don’t worry partner. I’m going to give this one hundred percent of my personal attention.”


Last updated April 20, 2015


Wolfy11 April 23, 2015

awesome! :D

invisible ink Wolfy11 ⋅ April 23, 2015

Gosh thanks Wolfy....

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.