To A Stranger in And The Rest.

  • April 17, 2015, 3:09 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

These ones are for you, because we speak the same language.

Because this is how you say, this hurts; and this is how you say, I’m sorry.

Because the smudged-scarlet eyeliner of bitter-burnt heartbreak is ephemeral footprints that fade in the sand; I need to carry this with me, externally and visibly, for longer than tears take to dry on my cheeks. I don’t want to forget it, I need to regret it: painfully, powerfully, deeply, forever, if I could have done something better, and kept you together.

Your open-hearted eloquence exuded such exquisite elegance that I didn’t see the evidence; I was so busy listening, I didn’t hear the words. You spoke with such lucidity, painted it so vividly, for a moment I could almost see the molten-gold liquidity of your adored tranquility; the solidity and stability of that intense innate affinity, envisioned for infinity. That perfect-pastel landscape with its softly-sanded curves, the contoured cradled comfort you so desperately deserve.

It seems so utterly improbable, so shatteringly intolerable, that something so incredible- born to live invincibly, designed for immortality and promised for eternity- could ever be illusory, or simply cease to be.

I am so afraid that somehow, my footsteps walked into your world, and left the earth scorched with indelible marks, scarring the tiptoed lines of my path. I am afraid that even curled up small, I’m a trembling foetal wrecking-ball, ripping vast voids of blackness clean through the canvas of your universe; rolling unknowing through the lines of your poem, scattering pieces of perfect verse; until the lyrics are lost and the message is blurred: something beautiful beaten, defaced and dispersed.

Were my interactions- or inaction- fractions of a chain reaction; the choking-steel chain you’re now wrapped in, strapped in, trapped in? If my any contribution could cause resolution or comprise restitution, I would do it; I would face every wrath wreaked in retribution. I’m only confusion, a burnt-eye illusion, my intrusion impacting existing contusions; my presence an infusion of poison-pollution.

If the hazy blaze of your sun breathed a pulse in my palm, that glowing-gas planet a halogen ball, held so cautiously and carefully, given like a gift to me; were it mine to relinquish, I instantly would, I’d hand back your future if only I could. That dreamscape should be yours, of course; I wish it with violent, vehement force: I was carelessly dazed, perhaps dazzled, amazed; daydreaming of distant horizon-line skies, distracted as sunrise burnt holes through my eyes.

You have no idea what I would do, to realign the stars for you.

I would leave my every word unspoken, if it could only leave your world unbroken.


Deleted user April 17, 2015

Would you? I ask myself that.

LoveSuicide April 17, 2015

I don't want to forget it, I need to regret it

That's purely phenomenal. I really love that line.

The next seems almost as if you are swept away as much in the contours of the moment than by the actuality of it. Sort of almost distracted by varying levels of beauty. There's always another layer.

And the next reminds me of the inevitable terror that is trying to be a squared out heart in a box with rougher edges and smoother curves forcing your own place within it just simply by being there.

Then the unknown. How to fix that which is now broken, but in places and phrases that aren't simply able to be bandaged.

And the loss of power that comes with wielding so much of it, but in the wrong times of day and the worst is trying to stay.

I love it. Love it all.

You are exceptional!

Pockets May 01, 2015

your picture painting emotionally wrenching ability is completely astounding...and i'd probably hate you just a little bit if i wasn't in awe because it's not often one comes across a person with the perfect grasp of the artistry of words.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.