A New Phase in our Lives! in A New Beginning

  • April 12, 2015, 6:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Guess what? We began a new stage of our lives today! :o) !! Yesterday, after being with us for nearly two years, Joey was at last able to move to his own place! Of course he is renting; he is roommates with a teacher, Natalie, who works at the same school he works at. She owns a house about five miles from here, but she needs help with the bills. They are friends, NOT in any way romantic, so that’s probably good! Guinness couldn’t go, because Natalie has three wee tiny miniature dachunds that Joey and she both worry that he might crush in his desire to play. But we told Joey that we do not mind keeping Guinness. This IS his home, after all! He probably doesn’t remember ever having had any other!

Much as Joe and I both enjoyed having Joey here....he was a help in anything we asked and some things we didn’t, plus ALWAYS great company....it is GOOD to be starting “THE EMPTY NEST, part II.” Joey was more eager for this than we were, but I already feel a huge sense of relief. I have been SOOOO exhausted over the past year, especially. Recently I’ve learned that it has been hyperparathyroidism causing my tiredness, depression, and body aches, NOT being “worked to death by these two men” like I used to think must be the cause. But even so, I will be less tired now, because I will have less work to do! Cooking for two, laundry for two....it’s just LESS, that’s all! Less is absolutely blissful!

Anyhow, so I’ve actually begun spring cleaning. BOY DOES THIS HOUSE NEED IT! I just haven’t felt like doing anything but the VERY bare essentials, that’s all. Oh, mind you, it wasn’t Joey’s mess! It was our mess! He cleaned his room completely out before he left, and it looks so good that it inspired me, I think. :o) Seeing the big difference I made with a few hours’ work this afternoon makes me feel extremely uplifted.

That’s it for now; I am out of writing-energy. Happy Spring to you, my dear friends!
I hope to be back fairly soon!

hugs and blessings,
Nicky


Deleted user April 12, 2015

Good to see you here again.
Times are changing.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm April 13, 2015

good to hear that you are feeling better and full of energy. i think it's the warmer weather that has me going full tilt in the yard and in the house. decluttering again inside and getting ready for spring planting at the same time. i'm ready for bed the first time i stop in the late afternoon. you're right joey probably was more ready to be out and on his own than you were. relax a day or two and then hit it hard!! take care,

woman in the moon April 19, 2015

Hi! Good to find you here. Under a semi-new identity.
Good luck to Joey in his new digs. Enjoy the added peace at your own.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.