Follow Up in Diary

  • April 11, 2015, 7:43 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

As a follow up to my last entry, I’ve realised that I still love films and broadcast media and I think that’s what I want to do. The only thing holding me back is the competitive nature of it and the unreliability of working on a freelance basis. Well anyway I’ve just applied for a job as a Teleprompter Operator. I think I’ll be good at this, here is an excerpt from my application cover letter explaining why:

“I have extensive experience in typing and various IT packages and software programmes and have a copy typing speed of approximately 80 words per minute. I pride myself on excellent English skills and take great care to ensure that correct spelling, punctuation and grammar are adhered to at all times.

I have a degree in Media Production (TV & Radio) which involved all aspects of film making from pre-production, production and post-production through to screenings. During my time at university, I was involved in various TV, Radio and Film roles including producing, operating cameras and editing.

Since graduating, I have worked as a camera assistant on a film called Dead Dog by Signal Films. This included transporting, setting up and breaking down camera equipment, dollies and tracking as well as completing daily shot logs. I have also shadowed set photographer Alex Bailey on the film The Boat That Rocks. I have extensive photography experience in areas such as sports, weddings and large concerts.

I have a full, clean driving licence and my own car and am happy driving long distances. I am punctual, reliable and a quick learner. In the last five years I have taken just one day off sick.

Although I have had a break from broadcast media, this is where my passion truly lies and I am keen to make a return to the industry. My administration, typing and IT experience combined with my media qualifications and experience makes me an ideal candidate for a role as a Prompting Operator.”

What do you reckon? I even looked up the Dead Dog film I worked on and I actually found it online! Although I had completely forgotten what happened in the film, it all came flooding back when I saw it. The failed blood squibs when the farmer got shot; the actor was lying on the ground covered in mud and fake blood and that part ended up being cut from the film. Me placing coloured ‘sausages’ on the ground to show the actors where to stand. 15 hour long shoot days including getting freezing cold and soaking wet in the Cumbrian weather with no waterproofs. Staying up until 1am filling in shot logs. It was all very hard work but I reckon I belong somewhere in the film/ TV world. I just need to figure out exactly where, maybe it’s as a teleprompter, who knows.

If you would like to see the film I helped to make, there’s a link to it here. If you like this, I can show you the one I made at university which I’m still proud of now and has my dad in a starring role :o)
Dead Dog (No dead dogs are actually in the film by the way.)

I’m still applying for the police typing job. There are a couple of questions I’m not sure what to put down for; two references who aren’t employers who I’ve known for at least three years. Do they have to be professional references or can I put friends?

Also, have I ever been involved in any criminal investigation? Well there was the time I was wrongly accused of shoplifting; I was interviewed by the police at the insistence of the store manager, but the police dropped all charges so nothing came of that. Do I put that down? I’ve also been a witness on a couple of occasions, although I’ve never been to court, I have been interviewed; do I need to put these?

Let’s get excited now and get out of this horrible job I have as quickly as possible.


Last updated April 11, 2015


Babe In Toyland April 11, 2015

I'd disclose all that stuff. You have nothing to worry about if the charges were dropped. It's better to be open about it than then finding out about it later on. Rob told me that there's a lot of ex crims in the police force.

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ April 11, 2015

I suppose so, I don't like putting it down though, I hate being wrongly accused of anything and it sort of sounds like an admission if I put it down. But as you say, better I mention it right away rather then them finding out about it later on as an omission would look worse.

Bumbly April 11, 2015

Good luck!

Babe In Toyland April 11, 2015

Forgot to say, that personal statement is really good. It summarises your experience without sounding too big headed.

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ April 11, 2015

Oh thanks! It doesn't sound like a lot to show for 15 years but I didn't specify the timescale lol.

history of love April 11, 2015

Sounds good (both job & the letter) :) I have a suggestion to go along with your first para, that you could maybe add in 'I have excellent attention to detail' and then go onto your bit about spelling/grammar etc. But that's just me, lol!
Good luck with it!

Bomb Shell history of love ⋅ April 11, 2015

Ah thanks but I've already submitted the application now; maybe next time! :o)

Deleted user April 12, 2015

I think the personal statement sounds really good and there was loads there I didn't know about you!

Vee April 12, 2015

Definitely keep applying for other jobs, some people say jobs are much of a much but some are worse than others.
I know what you mean about worrying over going freelance. It's also always good to be an employee to qualify for maternity leave later on.
Hope you get something loads better soon!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.