Restless in And The Rest.

  • April 9, 2015, 2:42 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

A distracted wide-eyed gaze into that purpled-petrol glaze; that plasma-ball of possibility, an iridescent volatility; crackling cobalt electricity. Cerulean-blue refracted hues; silent sirens in cyan backlight an illusion, the dissolution of internal confusion without conclusion. Shattered neon lightning bolts vibrate vivid flares; a visible current through that empty air, beneath glass as thin as bubble-skin, so far contained but untapped and untrained; its suspenseful essential potential: exponential.

Electricity- that energy- is a surging impossible force; irresistible power to create its own course, it can leap through a vacuum or light up a sea; its crackling snapping lightning-whips can rip open the sky or can render you blind, it can overwhelm and undermine. Fractured-fractal branchlines- blinding bright- can realign or redesign; the pixellation of imagination, the frailty of invocation; that breathless want for variation.

In recognition of ignition, that friction- the frisson of nuclear fission- is this an admission of craving transition; a secret submission to unspoken ambition; a warning spark, a premonition? All that I am is an apparition, an exhibition without definition; constrained and conditioned by my own inhibitions, a constant confusion of redefinition, repositioned and reconditioned, I have so many faces; I don’t recognise a single one.

Supine in a sea of my own disconnection; picking faces at random from my plastic selection, each one a falsehood, a candy confection. Is this a deception or just a deflection, a form of protection; save the world, or myself, from my obscene reflection? All that I am is a man-made craft, whittled and sanded to a bland work of art; all that I am, an artificial construct- can plastic fingertips still conduct?

An onion is only collections of layers, there’s nothing beneath when you peel them away; there is nothing inside, there is no hidden prize, only the stinging burn scalding your eyes. These peeling paper pieces I so freely give away, hand out like candy every day, they’re not pieces of me, not reality; they’re just flattery and fripperies, scattered like ashes with flippancy.

Perhaps I learn too readily, forever watching steadily: I study, analyse, and absorb; then repeat, replicate, and conform; always transforming, always performing- in taking the shapes of the holes I call home, I am left the hollow knowledge: I have no form of my own. I am a mannequin, a coathanger, a vessel for the vestments of my chosen investments; I’m shiftless but shamelessly restless, today; I want to screw up this canvas and throw it away.

I want to run barefoot or fall through cold air, jump from the clifftop just to find out what’s there; I want risk or adventure, or just something new… the water will deepen- the moment I weaken- but I can’t help but crave it; that reckless feckless footloose freedom.


invisible ink April 09, 2015

brilliant...
"All that I am is an apparition, an exhibition without definition; constrained and conditioned by my own inhibitions, a constant confusion of redefinition, repositioned and reconditioned, I have so many faces; I don’t recognise a single one"

Meaningful to me. I often wonder my electronic reflection. I place these words out on the net and I have my own definition of their meaning.... what they are trying to define.... inform.
But I am in no position to interpret that as the definition is preconceived in my own head. How you define the words are or may be remarkably different than what I hoped.
I know what I want to mean to you in my electric form .....but do you....and am I being in honest in my effort to make it as transparent as possible...

Am I.... I.... just like your entry states so well....

Deleted user April 12, 2015

You write amazingly well :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.