Sprawled along the carpet floor, or, Culture shock in Adjunct to 8/9/2013 flash friday; a trinity of flashs

  • April 5, 2015, 5:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Everything eventually comes back to this. You were expecting a semi-colon and something pround/silly. Maybe not. You read faster than your own expectations. The cool thing about typing is that you can almost type at the speed of thought, sometimes faster. I don’t know, I don’t usually think in words, but when I do I can type at the speed it takes my mind to translate the thought to words. Sometimes faster; which explains why many entries are all katywumpus and/or piggly wiggly. Piggedly Wiggedly is a grocery chain south of here; KatyWumpus is not. It seems kind of arbitrary to me. At the very least there should be a chain of convenience stores named Katywumpus.

When I was in the waiting room at the clinic where my mom goes every six months or so, wait, that sentence structure sucks. In the waiting room at the doctors office I engaged this large elderly black woman in a conversation, she had brought along a skinny ancient black friend. I think it’s a law or something. You snort but you wouldn’t believe the ordnances in this town, and no, I don’t mean ordnances like bombs in an air force jet, I mean like a set of laws that you aren’t supposed to get shot fleeing the commission of. I’m sure there’s a better way of explaining an ordnance but not one more salient to the likes of you and I. Oddly enough most of these things are enforced by meter maids. I shit you not nor do I intend to ever shit you not or otherwise.

I liked the walker the large elderly woman had so I asked her about it. She said it wasn’t a walker and that she’d been reading a biopic on Rosa Parks written by her nieces and Nephews. Rosa moved from rural Alabama to Detroit. She liked the personal view of historic figures. Her skinny friend was widowed in 1982. I know those seem like non sequitors. She made them flow with grace. I’d forgotten the benefits of living in a college town. Granted the students seem impossibly young and suicidaly stupid, but, despite all evidence to the contrary, the grown ups are well read. I come by this honestly, I forgot that you have to ask about something unrelated to engage in intelligent discourse. Rosa Parks had a ninth grade education, which in Alabama I think is the equivalent of a fifth grade education, but, honestly, math is not my strong suit.

I heard an undergrad speaking to her friend in line to buy cinnamon schnapps (there was a sale on the gallon size) explaining that emotions weren’t really seated in the heart, that the heart was just a stupid muscle that pumped. Her friend tittered. They should sell condoms with cinnamon schnapps. I think the one speaking was pre-med, the tittering probably pre-law, no, wait, I mean jail bait.

Please forgive me, if not for this entry than something else and I’ll put it toward this entry .


woman in the moon April 05, 2015

You are forgiven. It's that time of year.

Spilledperfume April 06, 2015

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.