perfect harmony in Snippets

  • Aug. 9, 2013, 6:25 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I learned how to cook when I spent my years living as a girl. It was probably the one thing I enjoyed about the whole experience. I was good at it and it was fun. But I never told anybody that because fun wasn't part of the prescribed punishment. Back then roles were defined for boys and girls. I spent lots of time learning to sew( I hated it), knitting(I sat there with the needles never doing anything), laundry, ironing, cooking, and the list goes on and on.

But cooking was something I had a knack for . One my first dishes was chicken l'orange with rice pilaf. The meal was for 18 people(12 residents and six staff) so I had to triple the ingredients. The rice was great and chicken was good too but it was a little overcooked It was my first real meal for more than myself that wasn't grilled cheese.

People called me chink so I figured I was part Chinese and my last name was French. So half French and half Chinese. Not a bad mix. Half of me liked cooking the other half liked eating. Perfect Harmony


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.