The Art of Colour in Poetry is the Window to the Soul...

  • April 3, 2015, 3:29 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

There are no words tonight. I have tried. I am a dried out husk. Barely alive. Reliving the past. Always living and reliving life inside these walls that constitute my mind.

So old poetry it is.

And sometimes the inspiration comes from the way she makes me want to express the heart..

“The Art of Colour”

Tonight, darling
Sleep evades me
A mercurial creature
If ever there existed
In the dark of night

I can feel my pulse
Oh, how it quickens
When around you, love,
I am but a blank canvas
For your delicate brush

Won’t you colour me
With those perfect strokes
As there can be
No greater an experience
For any starving artist
Than to be held by your
Slender fingertips
Oh, to feel your touch

Will you not paint me
Some magnificent mosaic
Perhaps draw me upon
An undiscovered stone wall
A mural of intensity
Depicting my passion
My want, my desire
For I can hold no candle
In these billowing winds
That would ever dare
Hope to shine as bright
As bright as your eyes

You see, love, stars
They guide sailors
Lost upon rocky waves
Finding their way
In the dark of night
Yet these eternal beacons
While they shine
Ever so brightly
They glow so very dim
When I look at you
When I see your smile
You are the truth,
An unspoken beauty!
That makes the pallor
Of this wicked life
Somehow subside

When the art of colour
Longs for safe harbor
It is in your arms
And in your warm heart
That such beauty
Shall always reside

© Brian Milici
May 27, 2009

Feedback adored.

May you always find your smile.


Lobbastah April 03, 2015

So romantic!

LoveSuicide Lobbastah ⋅ April 05, 2015

Guilty as charged. hangs head

lol.. thank you, dear.

Lobbastah April 05, 2015

Michael Keaton hosted SNL last night. I haven't watched it yet, but I saw some pics on the Facebook, and... yep, Jimmy looks like him.

LoveSuicide Lobbastah ⋅ April 05, 2015

Well, he spends half of Birdman in tight white briefs.. not flattering. lol.

Lobbastah LoveSuicide ⋅ April 05, 2015

I could picture Jimmy in tight white briefs. I just don't want to. Ha.

LoveSuicide Lobbastah ⋅ April 05, 2015

You should. I endured Keaton in his skivvies. Others should suffer, lol..

Lobbastah LoveSuicide ⋅ April 05, 2015

I have suffered enough. But I might see the movie anyway. Someday. If it comes to Amazon Prime. But probably not.

LoveSuicide Lobbastah ⋅ April 05, 2015

The movie was good, actually. Not mind-blowing, but funny.

Lobbastah LoveSuicide ⋅ April 05, 2015

I want to see it. But who knows. I don't have the attention span to watch movies alone.

LoveSuicide Lobbastah ⋅ April 05, 2015

No one to watch 'em with?

Lobbastah LoveSuicide ⋅ April 05, 2015

Not currently.

LoveSuicide Lobbastah ⋅ April 05, 2015

That's terribly unacceptable. A situation that requires remedying. :)

Lobbastah LoveSuicide ⋅ April 05, 2015

No kidding!

Waiting For Sunrise April 06, 2015

The poem is beautiful, but the description of having no words for the dry depths of emptiness is also a perfect eloquence: Always living and reliving life inside these walls that constitute my mind.

This; so much this.

LoveSuicide Waiting For Sunrise ⋅ April 06, 2015

And this is why I adore you.

You seem to just.. get it.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.