Then there's that moment of helplessness in The eye of every storm

  • April 2, 2015, 7:23 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

My fiance, the person I love more than life itself, my raison-d’etre has fibromyalgia, part of which is rheumatoid arthritis. This morning, after getting home from work at 6:30am, I found her lying awake in bed, stiff, rigid, like a flattened piece of lumber laid out to dry from the mill. Tears glistened the corners of her eyes. They were red, most likely from the pools of dried moisture her feeble hands could not reach up to clear.

She’s out of Tramadol. This isn’t some lame-ass feeble attempt at explaining a drug-addiction. She needs Tramadol to merely function on a day to day basis. It’s not even alleviating pain or symptoms, but its just low enough to help her get through each day. Those two pills a day, covered under my insurance are truly priceless to her.

She’s out. Her doctor had a stomach bug last week during her appointment and she hasn’t been able to get in to see him as of yet. She ran out several days ago. While I’ve been working midnight’s, she’s been dying to sleep but dealing with not only the pain that has slightly been masquerading behind the drug, but the withdrawal symptoms of the drug itself; the headaches, nausea, fevers, shaking.... etc.

I know what withdrawals are like and I never even needed anything. I was just a shitty excuse for a human being drug addict, and it was one of the worst feelings I’ve ever had. I can’t imagine the stacked deck of withdrawing and needing it to simply cope with a day-to-day existence.

I’m rambling. I’m emotional right now and my heart feels like its literally splitting in two pieces. I’m sorry.

She told me this morning that she’s been hurting so bad, that the pain inside of her bones is too much for her burden. She told me, tears of genuine sorrow, hurt, and helplessness streaming down her face, that she had thought of taking her own life. She said she’s in so much pain, and she knows that me, Watson, and Tater Tot would be just fine.

But I wouldn’t be. Oh Jesus I wouldn’t be.

I don’t know what to do.


ManitouWolf April 02, 2015

Damn. Is there no way for her to contact her doctor, letting him know this is an emergency case?

=bernard= April 02, 2015

Well if it were me, I think I'd be grabbing somebody by the throat right now to be able to leave their hands free to write a script. Give the doctor a call yourself and let them know she is in great pain, someone there at the office has to be able to write a prescription, or order a refill.

Paper Cut Scenario =bernard= ⋅ April 02, 2015

It's been more of a hold up between the pharmacy (WalMart, of course). Doctor claims its been sent, followed up with a phone call etc.... Wal Mart claims this hasn't happened and they've heard nothing. Doctor can't cancel it and rewrite it for CVS as its still showing "active." WalMart doesn't have it as "active." Today is day five. She's so miserable.

Deleted user April 02, 2015

sweet girl, that's a heavy burden to bear... for you both. I am certain you are doing everything you can; your support & love is huge.

donut April 02, 2015

Is there really no other way to get the pills? The ER? :(

Bird Lovell April 04, 2015

That's awful to take in. I hope there is relief soon.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.