The old VFW in North Denver late '50's early 60's in Misc. Thoughts opinions, the whole trash can.

  • April 1, 2015, 10:18 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The VFW. Veterans of Foreign Wars. My Grandfather belonged to the VFW, and well as most of the Terry clan. No they, weren’t disabled, but it also was , a place to drink cheap and maybe have a good time. I hated going there, cause I was captive, till they were ready to leave. I liked the picnic, because there was more things to do. So reaching in the “windmills of my mind”. I’ll try to relate what I remember.

Friday or Saturday, once or twice a month was a VFW day. My parents went at least once a month. There might be a band, that was thrown together, or the old Jukebox. A quarter would get ya 5 to 6 songs, and they had a good size dance floor. My Uncle Clyde, and Aunt Velma would be there, Like Clyde needed another drink. He would grab someone, usually a family member, or his wife, and scoot around the dance floor. I digress. Hey when yer 6 or 7 years of age, everything is big.

They had slot machines and stuff, when you could do that. My grandmother Blanche, God Bless her, loved her beer and the machines. Ol’ Blanche was playing a machine, a crude slot, but I remember monkeys and lights, and old pinball glass art on it. The main thing was to get a certain “Monkey” alignment, and if the right combination showed up. Winner!!! DING DING DING !!!!

Beer…Blanche and the bladder..

Really, what is with you women? Lol I still don’t know. Blanche and beer and Nature well, it had to happen. I am watching in fascination over this stupid game, lights, bells. Hey!!!, and its free. I thought so..lol.

Grandma says I need to be right back, watch this for me Bobby, don’t let anyone get on this machine. I am a guardian now. She’s away and hey it’s not doing anything. So I, in innocence, put some credits in and hit the button. Like grandma did, what could happen? Oh buddy what happened. I triggered a jackpot. Like 2500.00 dollars worth, and that was big in the late 50’s early 60’s. The money is pouring out, the bells are going off.

I run to my mother and said, “This machine is broken and money is falling out”. “What did you do?” and she walks over to the machine. It’s still pouring out coins. Blanche?, shes still removing beer. My mom said, “Did you play” ? “Yes, I did”. Okay, there was minor playing and the jackpot is void. The place it is busy, and no one is wiser. My mom said, “Lets wait for grandma, and she won this. You need to stay quiet”.

Blanche arrives, she said, “What happened?”. The events were explained. The jackpot was acknowledged and paid off. With my gambling expertise, I might add.

I RULE !! Well, I quasi ruled, maybe?? Thanks for reading.


MageB April 01, 2015

Wonderful. LOL Did they give you a cut?

Brakeshoe Bob April 01, 2015

No LOL

MageB April 09, 2015

Hope you are ok as you have been awfully quiet. Take care.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.