Cherish You (Video by Me) in Poetry is the Window to the Soul...

  • March 29, 2015, 2:37 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hopefully this actually works.. never done a video of a poem of mine, but first time for everything! :)

Here’s the poem for those wanting to follow along. heh.

And sometimes the inspiration comes from old lines in the written poems of my heart..

“Cherish You”

I lay here wanting
Wondering
Puzzling about inside my head
How it is I managed you
Outfought the damaged you
And somehow found the
So very close to marriage you
Laying here next to me
Inside the battlefield of love
That is our bed
I sigh happily and so deeply
Drawing in a soulful breath
As I curl your sheet-less leg
About my very own
How is it I managed you
And have kept you from
Your greatest doubter –
The embarrassed you
Your mind an unstable ladder
Thoughts so frantic, so flurried
A doorway to disaster
That would – once opened
Only seek to vanish you
And set free the fury of
The embattled you
Wanting to perish you
And that’s precisely when I
Place my hand in your own
Press my lips to you in a sweet kiss
And we share the soulful air
Consume the fears
Breathing softly away
All the worries and doubt
That do not cherish you
That do not bandage you
I will not abandon you!
Not ever! Not Now!
I will not walk away from you
Should you falter
Should you Fall
I shall reach down
I shall carry you
Until the doorway you see
Is the one that leads
Away from doubt and to me
I will carry you
I will bandage you
I will cherish you
And then marry you
In the magic moment of
Our own storybook ending
A fairy tale wedding
In the wisps of the Willows
In our garden of Fall

© Brian Milici
March 23, 2015

Feedback adored.


Lobbastah March 29, 2015

Love it, both as written and as performed.

My ex is a local slam poet champion. He's been to the World Poetry Slam competition twice. I don't think I could perform my own poetry; I think I'd become too emotional!

LoveSuicide Lobbastah ⋅ March 29, 2015

Aww, thank you for the very kind words. They are much appreciated!

I've never done slam poetry. Never will I don't think. It's just not my style. In fact, I've not read my poetry out loud like this in ... uhh, like 6 or 7 years?

Slam poetry is usually more effect on the presentation than the substance I've found. That's not always the case, but it's sort of.. it gives you another dimension to present, which allows for more freedom I think to not have every part grab you. Every part affect you.

Who knows. Maybe I just haven't been exposed to it properly?

Really? Your writing would be too emotional to recite it? Hmm.

I'll read it soon!

Lobbastah LoveSuicide ⋅ March 29, 2015

A poem is a story. I see it as painting a picture with words. I understand and respect slam poetry as an art form, but I'm with you: it's not for me. And even if it were, I am not welcome in that community, thanks to my ex.

To clarify, my poems would be too emotional for me to read aloud in front of others. I'd likely dissolve into tears through some of them. I also don't think I could do them justice to read them out loud. I'd rather let someone else read it in their own tone/voice and interpret it how they will.

LoveSuicide Lobbastah ⋅ March 29, 2015

Hmm, not welcome in the local slam poetry community, right? Or was he like active in the global slam poetry community and so they don't like you? What happened that has you on the outs?

I agree with you. I almost never reveal who/what my writing is about for that very reason -- allowing someone to take from it whatever they will without me influencing it. Makes for a more personal experience I think.

However, I realize my cadence in my head isn't always translated by just the written word. So I wanted to test this out.

Lobbastah LoveSuicide ⋅ March 29, 2015

Basically, a divorce happened, and I was bad mouthed throughout the local slam community.

LoveSuicide Lobbastah ⋅ March 29, 2015

Understood. How long has the divorce been final? How are you holding up?

Honestly, I can't imagine going through one. I think it'd destroy me in a lot of ways. Not proud to admit that.

Lobbastah LoveSuicide ⋅ March 29, 2015

I would be much worse off if we hadn't divorced. I'm much happier now. Better to be single and alone than married and alone. I think it's been 7 years since it was final. I'm pretty much over it.

LoveSuicide Lobbastah ⋅ March 29, 2015

Understood. Good perspective, and one I wholeheartedly agree with. Which makes us brilliant since great minds.. well, you know the rest.

So did you marry young? You don't seem like you're all ancient and fossilized.

Bookkeeping leads to numbers. Numbers leads to math. Math leads to.. suffering. Or was Emperor Palpatine saying something else? I forget. heh.

Lobbastah LoveSuicide ⋅ March 29, 2015

I married in my early 30s. I AM quite ancient now, but I think I still have a few years before fossilization occurs.

LoveSuicide Lobbastah ⋅ March 29, 2015

Oh shush

If you're fossiizing I'm up for mummification.. lo

Deleted user March 29, 2015

Wow.

LoveSuicide Deleted user ⋅ March 29, 2015

I know right? Wow. You're alive! chuckles

LoveSuicide Deleted user ⋅ March 29, 2015

All kidding aside, it is good to hear from you. I hope you've been alright..?

WizeArtWorx March 31, 2015

wow... this is awesome!

LoveSuicide WizeArtWorx ⋅ March 31, 2015

If by this you mean me, then you're totally right.

winks

Deleted user November 27, 2015

:)

LoveSuicide Deleted user ⋅ November 27, 2015

Got you smiling, huh? ;)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.