here come the vultures in 2015

  • March 29, 2015, 12:59 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

  1. I have recovered from my exhaustion! So much so that I ran 5k’s on both Wednesday and Thursday during lunch! And it was hot, and sweaty, and fabulous, and I really need to get some baby wipes and wear tech tees so I don’t end up blotting sweat on my work clothes. I found a trail that follows one of the creek tributaries off the major harbor river and just couldn’t stop running on it. I can’t wait to go again. Waterfront trail running? Be still my heart.

  2. Still working on the sex part. We really are not that, um, compatible. This is a lot of work.

  3. Went to church tonight for the General Women’s Broadcast and ended up with the impression to take the kids to church. The sisters are praying about it, I talked to my mother-in-law (cue sparkles) about it and she agreed that they’d probably like to start going again; Aaron is game. We just have to talk to their mom, but I think she might enjoy having a quiet morning. Part of one of the talks was about not limiting your love and parenthood to just your biological kids. Love them all. So stay tuned; we might be wrangling three kids at church soon.

  4. It was chillier today, but we went for a walk to explore some new side roads that had cropped up over the last eight months. Turns out, there are some luxury apartment complexes there, and plans for road expansion and some businesses. One of the complexes we really liked. They have recycling. Dog parks. Garden plots! Salt water pool that’s open year-round! Won’t give me crap about Sheppy! MOSQUITO NETTING ON THE BALCONIES! Aaron is infatuated. We’ll have to see about rent prices, and compare to any increases in our complex, but I think we’ll either stay here and move to a two-bedroom, or make a big leap for that place. Because seriously. Garden plots and mosquito netting.

  5. On that walk, we went a little over 10k! Go us! The 8-mile trail we want to hike still isn’t open, but I have slightly more faith in our athleticism. (Aaron says he can run a ten-minute mile at age 28 with zero training. I do not believe him.) Anyway, as we approached the bridge over the oozing cypress swamp, I mentioned how surprised I was that we had never seen an alligator. I’ve seen a hundred box turtles out sunning this spring, and where there are prey, there are alligators. We come out on the bridge, something in the water catches my eye…

alt text

alt text

WE FOUND A GATOR! Look at this awesome prehistoric bridge troll. They’re really such magnificent creatures.

…So now I want to eat one. I Googled where to get the best deep fried gator around here and we have a lunch date for some Friday. This place also has gourmet mac n cheese with aged gouda. Can’t wait.


SixOStrophe March 29, 2015

Gator is on the list of things to try whenever I can go see you. Srs.
Might not be a good idea NOW but eventually.

sparkyray SixOStrophe ⋅ March 29, 2015

Oh. Dude. It's on. Like slightly-chewy chicken with deep-fried breading and some epic seasoning.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.