Chinese New Year in Magical Realism

  • March 26, 2015, 9:24 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I want to do justice to the whirlwind 2015 has been so far, but realistically, it’s not going to happen. So, bullets and photos:

China - First week of January I flew with A to Shanghai to represent the US at the China Winter Swimming Festival. Shanghai was wonderful, they took us around sightseeing, we took the Bullet Train to Jinan, where the swimming part began. Saw so many friends, and it was terrific to have A meet everyone finally. Everyone we went we were treated like rockstars -feted at multiple galas, everyone asking for photos with us, so many wonderful friends, new and old. Amazingly I won the entire swim, which was so ridiculous and unexpected. And involved PRIZE MONEY! Nothing crazy, but almost a thousand yuan - I blew most of it on souvenirs and got a manicure. This year has changed my life, I never thought I’d be a semi-professional athlete, traveling the world for swimming at my age.

On the Bund in Shanghai, in front of the beautiful skyline:
alt text

USA in PRC:
alt text

Me and my bestie Amy (my qipao size is XXXL, hahaha):
alt text

Beautiful Daming Lake:
alt text

Race Finish:
alt text

Me, Amy, and A:
alt text

USA/UK Swimmers:
alt text

Podium!
alt text

Gala Dinner (with the Coney Island Polar Bears):
alt text

With our Souvenirs:
alt text

alt text


Last updated March 26, 2015


dickson. March 26, 2015

Amazing as usual!

.allison. March 26, 2015

holy shit!

Red March 26, 2015

You are awesome! BUT WHEN DO WE GET TO HEAR ABOUT ANTARCTICA??

Satine Red ⋅ March 26, 2015

I am like 3 months behind :)

Satine Red ⋅ March 26, 2015

Story of my life

Red Satine ⋅ March 26, 2015

I will wait patiently! That pic of you diving into the water on fb is priceless.

Deleted user March 26, 2015

Wow ! You look great and sounds like a fascinating time !

Kate March 26, 2015

You rock so hard! Love you!

nightborn March 26, 2015

Yeah winning! :) You are looking super fit, my dear.

Bluesea March 26, 2015

You are so awesome. It is so cool that you get to travel the world to swim, even if it's in ridiculously cold water.

sarahbaby. March 26, 2015

You WON! As a pro?! Ok it's official, you're on fire.

Satine sarahbaby. ⋅ March 27, 2015

This is a super-new sport, there are no pros and very little prize money, not like triathlon ;)

sarahbaby. Satine ⋅ March 28, 2015

Hahahaha well it's not like I could roll in and win that shit!

dali March 26, 2015

AMAZING!

kmh. March 26, 2015

So cool! What a legend you are :)

Deleted user March 26, 2015

Girllllllllllllll

dancerd March 26, 2015

Awesome, and congratulations on your win!

LeftisRight March 26, 2015

Wow you rock my world!! Congrats!!

QueSeraSera March 26, 2015

Awe! Congrats!!!!!!!!!!!!!
What a great moment and to share with A.
Is A going to go to these events more often?
How amazing to be able to travel all over the world like this.
You know I think this is super super cool.
Kudos girl ------kudooooooooooooooos to you!

BlueEyedDevil March 27, 2015

Great job! congrats! :)

Jigger March 27, 2015

Gosh, you always look so stylish, even when half-frozen in a swimsuit. I like your red floofy wrappy-thing.

Antarctica?! GET ON THAT.

Deleted user March 27, 2015

you are most awesome. srsly.

noooncy. March 28, 2015

Nice!

Andel March 28, 2015

These are wonderful photos! Here's to life's good surprises--and congratulations.

pandora March 31, 2015

Congrats, that's amazing! And I'm still totally loving you as a blonde-with-bangs!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.