Happy Friday Survey in survey time

  • March 27, 2015, 7:28 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Wow, two entries in a week- shocker! I stole this fun survey from Krud. He’d trimmed it down and no doubt I’ll trim it even further since it’s about a zillion questions long. You’re welcome.

How old is your television?
I think of it as brand new, but in reality it’s … two years old? Three years old??? I really don’t remember. It seems all fancy and newfangled because our previous TV was probably 12-13 years old. We bought that one just when flat screens were becoming A Thing - a Very Expensive Thing- and so we got it really cheap. Because although it did technically have a flat screen, the rest of the TV was enormous and it weighted about 300 pounds, unlike the sleek flat screen/flat body TVs that were replacing it.

And I’ll admit right here that even after we got the Fancy New TV and put the Fancy New TV on the TV Table, the Monstrous Gigantic Old TV sat in the floor by the couch for… well, from whenever we got the New TV until a couple of months ago. A very VERY VERY long time. Until Baker B somehow managed to drag it outside and put it on the little walkway to the deck that runs beside the house. So now it’s sitting beside the house along with my planting supplies and other various outside stuff. We really don’t know what to do with it although we could probably pay an extra fee and get the trashman to haul it off. But why would we do that when we can just let it sit outside the house like the hillbillies that we obviously are??

While it was inside the house, sitting by the couch, it was basically a big weird cat bed:

eddie on the old tv

Do you have a laptop or desktop?
I have a laptop; Baker B has a desktop. I use his if I’m too lazy to get mine out.

Are you currently sleepy?
Yes I am. I am ALWAYS sleepy lately. I don’t know what’s wrong with me. Well, other than going to bed too late, not getting enough exercise and having a less-than-top-notch diet.

Have you ever deleted Facebook friends for a significant other?
I’m not sure what this even means. If you’re asking have I gone into Baker B’s account and deleted any of his friends, perhaps as a result of raging jealousy at his love for Randy Resident, then no, no I haven’t. I also haven’t deleted any of my friends because Baker B demanded I get rid of them. We’re old; we have very little FB drama.

Not that I’m not just a little jealous of Randy.

alt text

What accent do you think is the most attractive?
I’m very partial to any and all UK accents.

Describe your favorite jacket?
Incorrect use of punctuation, Survey. Or have you just turned inexplicably tentative? Well, whatever the case, I think my favorite jacket would be one I got from LL Bean a few years ago. It’s a lightweight hoodie jacket - oh, here it is!

alt text

Except mine is not that color- mine’s more a dark lilac. If lilac can be considered dark. It’s very lightweight, it’s water resistant, it’s wind resistant, and I do love it. I got it before my last England trip (sob!!) because I needed something lightweight but also warm. We went in June but it was still a bit chilly at times -upper 50s, low 60s - and this jacket was perfect. You can shove it in a bag if it’s not needed, and it was great on the plane too. So, yeah, it’s my favorite.

Do you handle pain well?
No. I am a wimp. I don’t like pain, I have a low pain threshold, and I whine.

Do you have long hair or short hair?
I have short hair that I am attempting to turn into longer hair. Currently my hair is a great big mess and I can’t tell you the last time I looked at it and thought, “Hey, my hair looks fantastic!” I’ve had it short with messy layers for ages, and my hairstylist of many years has semi-retired and is in Florida for half the year now so I’ve been experimenting with other places when she’s gone. I found someone I like quite a lot (in a very cool trendy old-warehouse-looking Bumble&bumble-using salon that makes me feel like I am in a big city and not at all where I actually am) and she’s done a good job with the layer-growing but it’s a mess right now.

I just took a selfie intending to illustrate my point, but was horrified and deleted it as fast as I could. Not only does my hair look like hell, I have puffy tired eyes and one is even puffier than the other because I seem to have an infected tearduct. Which I am taking to the eye doctor this afternoon. That one is also kind of bruised-looking way down below my eye due to this weird tearduct thing, so I also look like I’ve been in a brawl despite my attempts to camouflage it with concealer. SO, yeah, no selfies as proof of my terrible hair, that’s for sure. My hair was actually the best looking thing in the picture.

What is your favorite television show?
Oh, where do I begin??!! Baker B and I always have a series going, and our horizons have dramatically expanded of late thanks to the Amazon Fire Stick, which lets you stream from Amazon, Netflix and Hulu, and is the coolest thing EVER. Kim gave it to us recently because she accidentally ordered both that one and the other one- the more expensive one that I think is a box you hook up to the TV instead of just plugging it into the port - thinking she was just comparing them. We’d been plugging my laptop to the TV to stream, but this is a lot easier. Anyhow, currently we’re kind of between shows and trying to decide what’s next. Maybe Trailer Park Boys- Season 8 is available today!

Anyhow, I’ll just list stuff I love randomly (I see it says “show”. I can not pick just one.)

Whose Line Is It Anyway - especially the UK one, which we got hooked on YEARS ago, way back in the mid-90s I think. We’ve just discovered that Hulu has the 9th and 10th seasons, and we’re watching them as a filler. We saw them long long ago but I don’t think Comedy Central showed them all, and they definately cut half the show out- I do remember it being about 15 minutes long on Comedy Central when they aired the last season.
The Mighty Boosh- bizarre, surreal, British, probably my favorite thing ever.
Luxury Comedy- even more bizarre and surreal than the Boosh, done by the lovely and apparently insane Noel Fielding who is half the Mighty Boosh.
Black Books - okay, yeah, all my favorite shows are British. Cranky antisocial generally drunk Irish owner of a London bookstore and his two marginally normal friends. Hysterical.
Doctor Who - STILL WAITING for the most recent season.
Torchwood - Doctor Who Spinoff that we watched first, which got us hooked on Doctor Who.
Sherlock - totally hooked on that, kind of happily didn’t start watching it till the 3rd season was about to start, so didn’t have to wait two or more years between those seasons, at least.
Broadchurch- OMG, this is SUCH a great show. British crime drama, staring David Tennant who is so NOT Doctor Who that you totally forget he ever was, and Olivia Coleman who has been in several other things we really like. I’ve actually just watched it on my own although Baker B is going to watch it when we can stream Season Two. Which I streamed already via ITV with Chrome’s weird Hola extension that you’d think would be illegal but apparently isn’t. There is a US version called Gracepoint that, bizarrely, also stars David Tennant but apparently was not that good and didn’t get renewed for a second season.
Vera - another great show, which Baker B doesn’t watch. Also British, what a surprise. Cranky antisocial frumpy detective in Northumberland, staring Brenda Blethyn . The books are great too (Ann Cleeves).
Mr. Selfridge - just watching it myself; can’t get Baker B interested.
Downton Abbey - Baker B watched through Season 3 and then got tired of it – I still love it although I admit the Mr. Bates/Anna/constant-fear-of-going-to-jail thing is a little old. And I’m really sorry there’s only going to be one more season.
QI - hilarious British general knowledge quiz featuring Stephen Fry and a bunch of comedians.
Would I Lie To You - really really hilarious British quiz show also featuring mostly comedians who make each other guess if they are lying or telling the truth.

Not to mention Red Dwarf, Doc Martin, The IT Crowd, Clatterford (or Jam and Jerusalem in the UK), Blackadder… it does not end.

Okay, I DO like shows that aren’t British too:
Six Feet Under
Lost (just watched ALL OF THEM AGAIN recently)
Breaking Bad
Deadwood
Dexter
True Blood
Big Bang Theory
Trailer Park Boys
Ballykissangel (Irish)
Twin Peaks
The Killing

Well obviously I could go on and on, and apparently television IS MY ENTIRE LIFE, but I’ve got to leave soon and take my troubled tearduct to the eye doctor. There are probably 50 more questions in this survey so I’ll save it for later.


Lyn March 27, 2015

I loved Red Dwarf and currently watch Big Bang.

May your eye be well!

edna million Lyn ⋅ March 28, 2015

Thank you! I got antibiotics, and hopefully that will take care of it.

ermentrude March 27, 2015

Quite an impressive list! How do you have time to work? 😉

Our tv is huge... It was second hand years ago, we got it for £5 and it goes back a very long way. It's recently started to turn black and white periodically... X

edna million ermentrude ⋅ March 28, 2015

Ours started turning greenish before we got the new one, so we figured it didn't have long to live. We bough a small (for the US) flat screen because we have a teeny livingroom and our noses are practically against the TV when we're watching. It was weird because 34" is pretty much the smallest you can get here, and since most people want much bigger ones, it was very inexpensive. I've really liked having one that doesn't stick so far out you have to walk around it!

noko March 27, 2015

I will watch Broadchurch next. I will really. I looked at the photo array of the table read for the last season of Downtown that was attached on Facebook to your post about this being the last season and it is amazing to see the actors in contemporary street clothes! Particularly Edith, Anna and Mr. Barrow.

edna million noko ⋅ March 28, 2015

It is! I was a little weirded out by seeing Normal Present Day Lady Mary chatting with Modern Day Dowager Countess. It's a bit unsettling seeing them like that.

edna million noko ⋅ March 28, 2015

And I love Broadchurch beyond all reason. I was SO happy to see there is going to be a third season---- when the second one wrapped up it was still in the air about a third one. The second one didn't get quite the glowing reviews of the first, but it was very different. I hope Season 2 will be available to stream soon-

noko March 27, 2015

Oh and we have two oddly shaped cat beds just like yours out in our garbage area that have been there for months!

edna million noko ⋅ March 28, 2015

One for each of the boys!

wintergrey March 27, 2015

Some more British shows that I think are worth trying out: Episodes and Vexed (I think they only ever did two seasons of hat one, shame!).

edna million wintergrey ⋅ March 28, 2015

I have seen the first season of Episodes, and really liked it (I looooove Tamsin Greig) but for some reason we haven't watched Season 2 yet... and now I see there's a 4th season in the works!?! Okay, that's on the list- thanks!!

Deleted user March 31, 2015

Love British shows as well !

Justlovely April 01, 2015

Oh Edna! I dance with delight when you write and always miss you when you're not here! I think your old t.v. is the same one we had before we moved. I have two words for you: Good Will. I hate the word, "hoodie" (jacket) and use it so that I won't appear old and cranky ALL the time. LL Bean still rocks. I am dyyyying for more Sherlock, and I think that this past season of Downton Abbey had some pretty good cliff-hangers. I thought it was the last season, and so couldn't figure out why they weren't wrapping all the story lines up.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.