Living la vida loca in One day at a time

  • March 23, 2015, 9:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Might be a bit of an overstatement, but Ricky Martin is coming to town, and my friend who is on a roll contest wise has entered to win tickets. Seriously she is amazing, I haven‘t paid for a movie in ages, and I have seen tons of them. The payback is I occasionally babysit her sullen 8 year old, and drive her around (friend, not the 8 year old) when she does weird things like run half marathons. Her husband is a real homebody so I happily get to be the plus 1. Sometimes he even “babysits”, I don’t get that – shouldn’t it just be looks after his own daughter??
In other news, I turned 50 at the start of March. I haven’t noticed any major changes, except the urge to cringe when someone says that I am 50 out loud. In stark contrast my friend Terri is having a big party to celebrate her 50th this coming Saturday. It’s sort of everything I hoped to avoid, but what are you going to do? Richard is making a rare public appearance with me, and I have decided to make a bit of an effort. I have a free voucher for a makeover (I won that one) and I’m getting my hair done too. There will be a lot of people there I haven’t seen for a while, so I figure why not?. The only thing that is bothering me is what to wear. I really want to wear a party dress (I have two, and they have only had one outing each), but I have to think about the venue – a kind of scuzzy pub, and also Terri isn’t a dresser up-er-a. She is very much into the tunic and legging look. I definitely don’t want to upstage her, so will probably finish up wearing a sparkly top and pants. (it’s not that sparkly).
I saw my Mother for this first time in a month on Saturday (it’s a four hour drive one way). She isn’t doing well. She has had mobility problems for years, but for the first time she seemed to be struggling mentally. Couldn’t find the words for things (like earrings), and when I took her for a walk around the block in the wheelchair she said she was cold (it was really warm outside, and she was wearing a fleece). She seemed slightly better on Sunday, but I’m sort of holding my breath every time the phone rings.
Otherwise, life goes on. My neighbours on both sides have their houses on the market. Fingers crossed that we get some nice replacements. Work is good, it’s busy which I love.
Will try and get (and post) a pic of my Saturday look – hopefully I will only look 49.5!


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.