Sick and Tired of being Angry in My this and that

  • March 18, 2015, 12:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Why can’t I love the people that Jesus loved the most? The broken, the liars, the drunks and drug abusers.

Every day I’m faced with it, and everyday I interact with these people, and everyday they walk out of my office and I am confronted with the fact that maybe I didn’t handle it well.

WHY is this so difficult for me to do? WHY can’t I just love these people, treat them well, and not look down on them? WHY do I always leave myself feeling guilty when I’m short or cross with them. WHY do I do that to myself?

And what would Jesus do? Well… does he care if your enabling them? Or are we called to give to the poor, and then it’s up to them how wisely (or unwisely) they use the money? And when we give to these people consistently, and another person comes in that’s just in a tight emergency spot just this once and we can’t help them because all of our money designated to this area is gone… then what? Perhaps that doesn’t matter… you can’t plan for all hypotheticals.

But when they lie straight to your face, and look you right in the eye… must be my human nature but it makes me all prickly… I feel like a hedgehog with all my quills standing up… just an anger takes a hold and I want to shake them and say “Why do you think you can get away with this?!” But that’s not Christ-like either.

And I realize what a horrible terrible example of Christ I am being… and it makes me sad and sick…

We all have something we struggle with… for me it is obviously loving those who are harder to love… and for those people maybe they are struggling with lying… maybe every time they leave my office, as I feel bad for not speaking well, they are feeling bad for lying (or abusing alcohol or drugs, or whatever).

I’m no better than them. No sin is greater than another in the eyes of the Lord… sin is sin… just because my sin doesn’t hinder my ability to work or anything doesn’t matter. It makes no difference that my sin may be wrapped in a neat, put-together, pretty package; and that their sin may be dirtier or smellier and more obvious. I have no right to look down on or judge anyone.


Deleted user March 18, 2015

When I was a volunteer for St. Vincent de Paul, we were told to remember that nobody is getting rich, and to remember that they are doing the best they can to get by. It's not our job to judge them or control their lives. To just love them with no expectations. Enabling them? Sure. But if you weren't helping them they probably would die because some people just don't know how to take care of themselves.

chel_c March 20, 2015

Hey Quinn,

I struggle with that all the time. My marriage fell a part because of drugs and alcohol. I am slightly jaded towards people who do drugs because of what my ex did to me, and "our" family.
There is NO right answer! sometimes being rude/harsh is OK! sometimes it is the RIGHT thing to do because you can't enable them.
In the situation you are in, its ok to have those feelings, its ok to know you are enabling them. What would Jesus do? i don't think is as black and white as we think it is at times.
The struggle is real for people, and these people have probably turned their addiction into a full blown disease. All we can do is smile, hand them their food and carry on. I would not give them money, I would give them clothes, give them food ect and draw the line there. thats my opinion. If your heart is jaded at these people attimes its OK! you are human!
oh HUGS!!!!!

pray for Jesus to give you wisdom and the heart to handle it. but maybe you need a guard up because (And this is hard to say) people with addiction just might let you down, or hurt you and you need to be wise to it..... is that wrong to say? ugh... tough situation dear.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.