An Excerpt of Who Am I in Poetry is the Window to the Soul...

  • March 17, 2015, 7:04 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So she asked me almost immediately when she found out that I was a writer. I don’t know if she was trying to hide her enthusiasm or not. Either way she did a terrible job. She asked me, “What is the difference, then? What is the difference between a poem and a book?”

I paused.

For far longer than both I had intended to and far longer than I gave it any such thought. The answer I knew immediately. I have always known.
The answer tumbled forth as if I were a politician reciting a well-practiced address. Perhaps I am. Perhaps that is what it was. In any event, the answer was as simple as I am dull.

“The difference between writing a novel and writing a poem is the difference of the matter of the heart. It simply is, there is no choosing. There is no motive. There is no other. Nothing else exists. Just my heart, my thoughts, and the love that tumbles forth. I write that way. This is all just an extension you see. An extension of what your puzzled look asks? Well, an extension of me, of course. An extension of us – when us is whatever occupies the slivers of my thoughts as pen meets paper or fingers press keys. There is nothing. There is everything.

I guess for me the difference between a poem and a book is that I can love the book again. Not the poem. No, that’s a stain. A scar. An indelible moment. Given away. Sometimes stolen. Either way it is never mine. The book, well, it’s too many moments. Those I can keep. Those are for me. The poetry, well, it’s so quick. It’s gone as soon as it is here. It’s never mine.

You’re smiling.

Right now. For me. You’re smiling. That’s beauty.

I’ll keep that.

exhales and stands up

Well, it’s time I write.”


Waiting For Sunrise March 18, 2015

I love this :)

That is how words feel, to me; an extension of myself, or a part scooped out from inside and distilled into lucidity.

LoveSuicide Waiting For Sunrise ⋅ March 19, 2015

Distilled into lucidity?

Okay, seriously, the fact you said that in a comment is pretty awesome. I totally nerded out. I'd highfive you if you were across from me. Or at least try to.. likely awkwardly. But then you'd laugh. So it's still a win.

Words are hard to separate when they are that which is akin to breathing.. you need to do it to live, but you rarely ever think about the need to commit your body to the act of doing so..

But the few times you do, well, you realize how much you need it.. you need to breathe.

Waiting For Sunrise LoveSuicide ⋅ March 21, 2015

Phew, glad it was appreciated.... I have a tendency to let my penchant for a nicer way of saying things run riot; at least your appreciation means I do not have to explain that I am not attempting to come off as a pretentious asshat :) Totally returning you high-five!

LoveSuicide Waiting For Sunrise ⋅ March 21, 2015

I'm pretty sure if you wanted to come across as a pretentious asshat, you'd do so with such clarity one wouldn't be left to ponder the intent. chuckles

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.