Expired Wiki, you say? in Site Updates

  • March 15, 2015, 10:20 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve been busy and backlogged on PB stuff, but I wanted to mention that I’m aware of the expired wiki. It was put together mostly by one awesomely dedicated community member. I don’t think she’s been around lately and I’ve tried touching base. I didn’t even realize there was a subscription involved.

Anyway, I believe I’ve got an archive copy that is mostly up-to-date, so even if I don’t make contact and take over the wiki subscription, it can at least be ported somewhere when I have the time to do so. Meanwhile, don’t forget about my Tips and Tricks book - while not as comprehensive as the wiki, there’s some good formatting info in there.


The current bane of my existence (for those of you that are technically inclined) - I recently let Windows 8 update my firmware on a laptop that doubles as my Prosebox development environment, with a separate Linux partition.

Windows, in its infinite graciousness as an operating system, decided to wipe out my dual boot menu as part of a firmware update. So I’m currently trying to figure out how to boot back into Linux. It’s proving to be more challenging than I thought it would be. Derp.

So one more thing to add to my list. Might just end up doing a full reformatting and go all-Linux on that lappy. Hey, Linux supports Steam now, so it looks like I can play The Talos Principle (my current distraction) without Windows. Who needs ya, Microsoft? (kidding - I’m a .NET developer by day)

Now if I just had a really easy way to build a PB dev environment from scratch. Also on my to-do list.


Last updated March 15, 2015


EvequeFou March 15, 2015

Hmm. What was your primary boot loader? If Windows, you probably just need to use bootmgr to re-add the boot option for Linux. If one of the Linux ones, you could probably boot from a Live CD and reapply Grub or whatever's current these days. (My Linux expertise is about 10 years out of date.)

simple mind EvequeFou ⋅ March 15, 2015

Yeah, I think it may need to be through an Ubuntu recovery disk. Pretty sure that was on the Linux side.

EvequeFou simple mind ⋅ March 15, 2015

The Ubuntu install DVD is bootable, if you have one handy.

cyndication March 15, 2015

I am SHOCKED to hear of you using Windows. Next thing, you'll admit to Internet Explorer!!

Deleted user cyndication ⋅ March 15, 2015

Very funny.

simple mind cyndication ⋅ March 15, 2015

I actually had to use IE last week at work to display a listing of Nuget packages on a server - in a format only IE recognizes. I felt a little dirty.

One Angry Dwarf March 15, 2015

"The Talos Principle is a philosophical first-person puzzle game"

Omg, SOLD.

Also I'm glad Windows 8 is finding new and creative ways to disappoint us. Sweet.

simple mind One Angry Dwarf ⋅ March 15, 2015

Definitely check it out. I love puzzle games, going back to Myst. Besides being philosophical (it honestly is), the game play is being compared to Portal - and that game is just pure badass. :)

crystal butterfly March 15, 2015

I hope my Apple products never get as nasty as windows.

Meginsanity March 15, 2015

You can probably use a live CD to reinstall grub and fix your boot loader... gah, I hate Windows 8.

Jigger March 16, 2015

Windows effing 8, man.

synapse March 16, 2015

Windows has never played nice when dual booting other OSes. But obviously 8 is horrible because it had no start menu and must be up to no good!

Loki March 17, 2015

  • my laptop uses Windows 8.1 =O I've become accustom to it & I actually quite like it. IE can fuck off & die, though. Google Chrome all the way!
Everything Good Rebecca March 17, 2015

Sounds like an extensive to-do list, and one I admire you for taking on so cheerfully.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.