Conchies in Winter 2014/2015

  • March 15, 2015, 10:05 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Conchie was a slang term used for conscientious objectors during the first world war. It was used as an insult. A lot of conchies were Quakers and, as some of you know, my upbringing was as a Quaker.

Yesterday the girls and I went to see an exhibition in Birmingham. It was about how the first world war affected Quakers. And I shall now bring it to you, if it interests you.

It started with a board of questions that every Quaker would ask themselves in that situation.
 photo IMAG2562.jpg

 photo IMAG2563.jpg

And then followed a series of boards, telling the story.

 photo IMAG2564.jpg

 photo IMAG2565.jpg

 photo IMAG2566.jpg

 photo IMAG2567.jpg

(This one is a bit blurry but worth it)

 photo IMAG2568.jpg

 photo IMAG2569.jpg

 photo IMAG2570.jpg

And the girls outside the museum.

 photo IMAG2577.jpg

 photo IMAG2575.jpg

Thank you for reading.


Last updated March 15, 2015


thesunnyabyss March 15, 2015

very interesting, what did the girls think of it?

hugs!!!

Deleted user March 15, 2015

I will come back to this later and give it the attention it deserves.

edna million March 23, 2015

That's really interesting - I actually do not know any Quakers. I think they are generally more common up north than here (Baptists are the norm here - I like the Quakers' beliefs much more than I do the Baptists). Very cute kids!

Deleted user April 26, 2015

Very interesting ! I agree with much of the Quaker philosophy ...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.